SU Library: Nursing Research: Nursing Informatics

Hot Topics in Nursing Informatics

Electronic Health Records

Finding Articles about EHR in CINAHL -

You can do a keyword search for "electronic health records" in CINAHL and get relevant results. You can also use terms from CINAHL headings such as "computerized patient record" "patient record systems" and "access to information" .

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database in the fields of nursing and allied health, containing research, EBP, and other professional publications

Finding Articles about EHR in PubMed -

To find full text articles on electronic health records in PubMed, start with finding descriptive subject terms in the MESH database. For example, entering "electronic health records" in MESH will tell you how the term is used, suggest sub-headings and allow you to search the full PubMed database for articles mainly on this topic. After putting check marks in the boxes next to the terms you want to use, send the terms to full PubMed database using the "send to search" box. Then, run the search in PubMed. On the right where it says "filter your results" you can select the "free full text" link and see lots and lots of articles about EHR!

PubMed also has "Electronic Health Records" as a topic-specific query. This means it is an information-rich topic that merits its own page where you can find links to articles, organizations, and other credible websites about EHR. You can also search PubMed through this page with "Electronic Health Records" as a main topic. This link can be found under "Topic-Specific Queries" on the main PubMed Page. You can also go directly to this link at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/services/queries/ehr.html

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Extensive database that includes research in the sciences, medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, life sciences, and more. Some content is available in full-text; other articles may be available from publisher web sites.

Finding E-books about EHR in ebrary -

Ebrary is an extensive ebook collection. If you enter "electronic health records" into the system, you will retrieve full text books containing useful information about EHR.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects
Description: Contains more than 137,000 titles, the majority of which were published after 2004. Users can read and highlight parts of texts; and at the same time, can take notes. All of the information can be saved into a personal account to be used for later use.

Need help?

Directions on how to download a book for offline reading.

Try other search terms Here are a few titles:

Digital Medicine : Health Care in the Internet Era.
Computer-Based Patient Record: An Essential Technology for Health Care, Revised Edition.
Diffusion and Value of Healthcare Information Technology.
Collaborative Patient Centred eHealth.

Finding Articles about EHR in OneSearch -

OneSearch allows you to search many of the library's databases with a single search. A keyword search for electronic health records (click the full text checkbox to limit results to complete articles) retrieves books, articles, reports, videos and more.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
find books, articles and more.
Are you having problems viewing the pdf document in Firefox?
Follow these steps: 1. Go to Tools > Options (or Firefox > Options 2. In the Options window, select the Applications tab 3. In the Search field, type PDF. You should find Portable Document Format (PDF) 4. On the right side you should find an Action column. Select "Use Adobe Acrobat (in Firefox)”. Restart the browser and try accessing the PDF again.
Are you having problems viewing the pdf document in Chrome? Make sure Chrome is set as your default browser. Chrome uses a built-in PDF viewer to open PDFs.

Books About Nursing Informatics

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
is a multidisciplinary collection of electronic books
Description: Contains more than 137,000 titles, the majority of which were published after 2004. Users can read and highlight parts of texts; and at the same time, can take notes. All of the information can be saved into a personal account to be used for later use.

Need help?

Directions on how to download a book for offline reading.
R2 Online Library (Nursing) This link opens in a new window
is a collection of nursing texts.

Below are examples of what you can find about nursing informatics in Ebrary and the R2 Library. Try searching these collections with other terms such as electronic health records and telehealth.