The Library has access to tools that will help you keep track of your sources, create in-text citations and reference list entries, and more. Try these:
This section of the guide includes APA, Research, and Writing resources that will help you with papers and other assignments as you complete the nursing program. The primary APA resource that all students should use is the APA guide that is required for their program.
The following APA guide is required for your program:
Traditional and Graduate
American Psychological Association. (2019). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.
RN/BS and ATB
American Psychological Association (2020). Concise guide to APA Style (7th ed.).
The Library has print copies of the current Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association at all three locations:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER - The new 2020 copyright release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes three different formats -- spiral and tabbed, paperback, and hardcover, all of which are full-color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral versionImproved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questionsResources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materialsDedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writersNew chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA StyleNew chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionalityMore than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resourcesMore than 40 new sample tables and figuresExpanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication processGuidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
The website APA Style includes a great deal of information on citing and writing research papers, including online examples of how to cite different types of sources. While not a substitute for the required manual, it can be very helpful if you don't have yours with you or need to check something question. Homepage of APA Style.Org, this site includes APA Style Tips, Frequently Asked Questions and more.
Examples of how to cite the most common types of sources are also available on the Library's APA In-Depth guide.
For additional help with citing in APA style and general writing, try the following links:
This sample paper demonstrates how your paper should be formatted and organized to meet APA style guidelines. The sample paper is in pdf format; your papers should be created and saved using Microsoft Word* unless otherwise specified or allowed by the instructor or course instructions.
*Note: All students have free access to Office 365, which includes Microsoft Word.
This checklist was created by nursing faculty to ensure that you follow the steps to submit your best possible paper. It was created for students taking SUO nursing courses, but students in the traditional program may want to view it as well. Feel free to download a copy and use as a resource when writing a paper.
Nursing students have access to writing tutors who can assist with citation as well as the general organization of an academic paper.
Students taking on-campus classes can make an appointment with Academic Link writing tutors through the TutorTrac system.
Students taking online classes have access to Brainfuse, an online tutoring service. The online tutors can review your writing or answer questions in a live session. You can access Brainfuse from your Blackboard course. Find more information about Brainfuse by viewing their website.
SafeAssign is being used in the majority of nursing classes when your work is submitted through the assignment link. This tool checks submitted assignments for originality against other submitted works in the Global Reference Database.
Click here to learn more about how SafeAssign works
When you submit your assignment it may take up to 24 hours for the originality report to be generated for your review. It is important that you understand how to review your SafeAssign Originality report and how to interpret the scores. Review the links below for detailed information.
Click here to learn how to review your originality report in the new layout
Click here to learn how to interpret your SafeAssign scores
Some instructors may have a suggested threshold for your SafeAssign score. Check your syllabus or assignment instructions for more information.
