SU Library: Nursing Research: Articles

More About PubMed

PubMedCentral
A free archive of life sciences journals and all full-text.
MESH Headings
Using the vocabulary and language of the medical field to conduct your search will give you the best results. Learn how to use MESH headings at this link.

Finding Full Text

Finding the full text of articles in library databases can be challenging. When you've identified a useful article, click on the pdf or html link, if visible, to get full text. Use the LinkSource link to see other options, including the possiblity the article is in another database.

Use the link below to locate the complete article when you only have the citation and/or abstract.

If we do not have the full text of an article you need, place a request through interlibrary loan.

Using the Full Text Journal Locator

Databases

The databases listed below have the greatest amount of nursing content (articles and more), but multidisciplinary databases like Onesearch and specialty databases like ERIC (education) can also be useful.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
find books, articles and more.
Are you having problems viewing the pdf document in Firefox?
Follow these steps: 1. Go to Tools > Options (or Firefox > Options 2. In the Options window, select the Applications tab 3. In the Search field, type PDF. You should find Portable Document Format (PDF) 4. On the right side you should find an Action column. Select "Use Adobe Acrobat (in Firefox)”. Restart the browser and try accessing the PDF again.
Are you having problems viewing the pdf document in Chrome? Make sure Chrome is set as your default browser. Chrome uses a built-in PDF viewer to open PDFs.

Click on the tutorials tab for help using the databases. Our new OneSearch database allows searching multiple databases from a single search box.
Learn more about OneSearch here.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The premier database for the nusing profession, CINAHL provides full-text for over 600 journals and citations to many more. Subject coverage includes health education, evidence-based practice, and allied health.
OVID Platform This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the field of nursing. Allows only one user at a time.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text medical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed includes over 17 million citations in medicine, biomedical sciences, life sciences, nursing and is freely available on the web. Some citations link to full-text. See cheatsheet here: http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/pmtri.pdf
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for Applied Nursing Research, Archives of Psychiatric Nursing, Geriatric Nursing, Journal of Cancer Nursing, Journal of Neonatal Nursing, Nursing Outlook and many more.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Includes articles about the psychological aspects of nursing, health and medicine.
Indexing to dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, full-text journals covering medical and health disciplines, including food science, childcare, and sports medicine
R2 Online Library (Nursing) This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing textbooks and ebooks. Only one simultaneous user at a time for each title
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Online library of education research and information including educational materials from Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Links to hundreds of thousands of documents dating back to 1966.

Today's Hours

More Hours

Nursing Research

More About PubMed

Finding Full Text

Databases