SU Library: Nursing Research: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Terminology

Glossary of EBM Terms - Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, Toronto

Glossary - Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, UK

SU Databases for Evidence-Based Research

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL contains a great deal of research, including systematic reviews. Under "Limit Your Results" use the clinical queries filter and/or the evidence-based practice checkbox to limit your search to evidence-based materials. Also, under Publication Type you can limit your search to systematic reviews. More about the evidence based practice limiter.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary science, and more
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
research database for psychology. Seach can be limited to systematic review in the methodology section.
Indexing to dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.

PubMed Clinical Queries - a subset of PubMed that focuses on evidence, ie, clincal studies and systematic reviews. The larger PubMed database has original research, which provides evidence if no systematic review is available.

Evidence-Based Medicine Websites

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
"The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice." The Search wizard uses the PICO format.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Gives guidelines for medical and health professionals to follow and provide a "...mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use."
Evidence-Based Practice - AHRQ
AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), complementing the biomedical research mission of its sister agency, the National Institutes of Health

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials

Evidence-Based Practice
from the University of Minnesota Libraries - Health Science Libraries
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
EBP PICOT Research

Today's Hours

More Hours

Nursing Research

Evidence-Based Terminology

SU Databases for Evidence-Based Research

Evidence-Based Medicine Websites

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials