When you're able to read an entire article, book, or other written document for free online, we call that "full text." Full text access is important because you need to read the whole work to decide whether you want to use or cite it in a project.
When you search for articles and books in the library databases, you may see one or more of these icons. Some will open the full text of the article directly; others will help you find any text that may be available to you.
|
|
PDF or PDF Full Text opens in a new window, or you can download and save it to your computer. PDF files are great because they show exactly how the source was originally published, including images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
|
|
Online Full Text or HTML Full Text will display in your browser. It includes all the text but may not have images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
 |
View Complete Issue will show you the full text article along with the others that were published in that issue of the journal. This can be helpful if you're trying to find more articles on the same topic or from the same journal.
|
|
|
A database name, such as JSTOR, ScienceDirect, or Nexis Uni, means that you can click the link and the article will open in that database.
|
|
|
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if we have the source anywhere. Please note, if you get the "Go to Full Text Finder Results" message, click the link to load your search results.
|
 |
Retrieve Catalog Item opens the item's record in our library catalog. There may be a link to an ebook or streaming video, or there may be a location and a call number for a physical item. |
