Finding Full Text

Finding Full Text in Google Scholar

If the full text isn't available in a library database, it's always a good idea to double-check Google Scholar to see if the article is freely available online somewhere.  Articles that are freely available via Google Scholar may be:

• Available from the publisher's website.  Many articles are available in free full text or via open access.
• Self-archived copies from the author.  Many authors are able to legally make a copy of their own work available via their website or a site like ResearchGate or Academia
• Author manuscript versions.  While this isn't a final version of the published work, reading the early manuscript version can help you decide whether you want to pursue getting the final full-text version.
•  

When searching in Google Scholar, look for the full-text links to the right of the title:

Connecting Google Scholar to the Stevenson University Library

Another way to easily find full-text via Google Scholar is to connect it to the Stevenson University Library.  Once you do so, Google Scholar will know that you have access to subscription content through SU and will show you links in our databases.

To set it up, click this link to go to Google Scholar.  Do not search for it in your browser or go directly to the site.

If you click this link from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your SU username and password.

On the Google Scholar page, click "Settings."  (The link is at the top center of the page.)

In Settings, select "Library Links" found on the far left of the screen.

In the "Library Links" box, type in "Stevenson University" and click "Find Library."

Put check marks in all the boxes that appear for Stevenson University.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Save."

You may now start searching for articles in Google Scholar. If an article is available full-text through one of our subscription databases, you will see a link that says "Full-Text from SU."

Troubleshooting

You may not see "Full-Text from SU" on many of your results in Google Scholar. There can be several reasons for this. Here are some things to consider:

• Make sure you use this link for Google Scholar, which is different from going directly to the site or searching for it in your browser.
• Go back to the "Preferences" and make sure the boxes for the Stevenson University Library have been checked.
• Try a sample search for the phrase "alternative fuels." You should see several links to "Full-Text from SU." If this works, your settings are correct.
• Google Scholar returns many articles that are not included in our library's electronic holdings. Here are two common problems:
  • We do not have full-text access to that journal title
  • We may not have full-text access to that date range of the journal
• The process is not fool proof. You may get some links that won't open, and there may be some articles that do not have a link, even though we have full-text access.