Once you've found one or more articles that you would like to use for your project, your last step will be to make sure you can access the full text, which means all the content of the article. If only the abstract is available, you won't be able to read and cite the article in your project. Look for the following icons or terms that indicate full text:
|
|
PDF or PDF Full Text opens in a new window, or you can download and save it to your computer. PDF files are great because they show exactly how the source was originally published, including images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
|
|
Online Full Text or HTML Full Text will display in your browser. It includes all the text but may not have images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
 |
View Complete Issue will show you the full text article along with the others that were published in that issue of the journal. This can be helpful if you're trying to find more articles on the same topic or from the same journal.
|
|
|
A database name, such as JSTOR, ScienceDirect, or Nexis Uni, means that you can click the link and the article will open in that database.
|
|
|
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if we have the source anywhere. Please note, if you get the "Go to Full Text Finder Results" message, click the link to load your search results.
|
 |
Retrieve Catalog Item opens the item's record in our library catalog. There may be a link to an ebook or streaming video, or there may be a location and a call number for a physical item. |
If none of the above options are available for you, here are a couple of things you can do next:
|
|
Use the Publications or Find a Journal link or button to search for the journal title (not the article title). This tool only has one job: to see if SU has access to a specific journal title in one or more of our databases. If there is a link to the journal in the correct date range, click there and see if you can find it. It's always good to double-check that we don't already have the full text somewhere else.
|
 |
Check Google Scholar to see if the article is freely available in full text. Sometimes you get lucky and find it on a publisher's website, the author's website, or a repository.
|
|
|
If you're still unable to find the full text, you can use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request articles or books that aren't already available through the SU Library. There is no cost to the user. When you click the link, you will need to log in with your SU account.
|
 |
Our AskUs service is available at the top of the library website. You can email, text, or chat with a Stevenson librarian for help. Tell us what item you are looking for (be as precise as possible), and we'll try to help.
|
