The American Nurses Association (ANA) defines nursing informatics as the integration of nursing science, computer science, and information science to manage and communicate data, information, knowledge, and wisdom in nursing practice. This data approach to patient care enhances the clinical experience for health care providers and patients.
Resources on informatics can be found in books (both print and electronic), articles, and other places. Our OneSearch tool is a good place to start since it will find books and articles in a single search.
Books are a good option for background information since they give a broad overview of many topics, including nursing informatics. See if your textbook for your course mentions nursing informatics. If not, here are some databases that contain ebooks on nursing:
Full-text nursing textbooks and ebooks. Only one user allowed at a time for each title
collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects
Here are some recommendations for specific ebooks that contain information about nursing informatics and are available online through the library databases
Application of Nursing Informatics by
Designed to provide a foundation for nursing informatics knowledge and skills required in today's data-driven healthcare environment, this text examines the impact and implementation of technology in nursing practice. Patient healthcare needs have only become more complex in a rapidly aging and diversifying population. Nurse Informaticists, as experts in improving healthcare delivery through data and technology, play a key role in ensuring quality and safety to patients. This text relies on nurses' practical experience to foster higher-level critical thinking and decision-making for professional development in informatics and life-long learning. Application of Informatics and Technology in Nursing Practice addresses the foundations of Nursing Informatics competencies, streamlined for the unique experience of practicing nurses. Organized around the framework of AACN Essentials of Baccalaureate Education, ANA Scope and Standards of Practice for Nursing Informatics, Institute of Medicine (IOM) Competencies, and Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs), this text features numerous case scenarios of real-life applications to engage the reader and reinforce content. Chapters cover informatics competencies, knowledge, and skills in a concise manner that recognizes the value of prior nursing experience and builds upon the reader's existing knowledge-base. Key FeaturesProvides information needed for all nurses in order to advance professionally in the new discipline and specialty of Nursing Informatics.Each chapter contains relevant critical thinking exercises, vignettes, and case studiesProvides information and skills needed by nurses specific to a variety of healthcare settingsEach chapter contains end-of-Chapter Learning Assessments: What Do You Know Now?Instructor Ancillary Package is included
An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution, and Innovation, 2nd Edition by
Nursing informatics (NI) is the specialty that integrates nursing science with information management and analytical sciences to identify, define, manage, and communicate data, information, knowledge, and wisdom in nursing practice. Nursing Informatics supports nurses, consumers, patients, the interprofessional healthcare team, and other stakeholders in a wide variety of roles and settings to achieve desired outcomes. This is accomplished through the use of information structures, information processes, and information technology. An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution and Innovation, 2nd Edition is the ideal gateway to all the professional possibilities this continuously evolving discipline has to offer. Describing the evolution of nursing informatics from its origins to current practice in today's complex, diverse healthcare environment, this book offers the next generation of nurse informaticists an understanding of the discipline, best practices, and its scope of influence in healthcare. The book also explores Nursing Informatics as it is evolving into the future, including technology creation and implementation and the development of influential policies and best practices. Special features include descriptions of the 'a day in the life' from informatics nurses in multiple roles and fields of influence, including academia, research, clinical settings, the executive suite, consulting, and government, as well as an Appendix featuring case profiles. This new edition updates the content to better align with the current state of nursing informatics and expand on additional roles. New to this edition is a chapter providing tips and advice for those trying to find their first nursing informatics job or are changing their careers. Another new chapter covers healthcare analytics and how it fits into the nursing informatics role. An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution and Innovation, 2nd Edition is the ideal resource for nursing students and as a reference guide and pint of inspiration for nurses currently in the field.
You can also look for books on specific topics in nursing informatics, such as electronic health records (EHR):
Security and Privacy of Electronic Healthcare Records by
Hospitals, medical practices and healthcare organizations are implementing new technologies at breakneck speed. Yet privacy and security considerations are often an afterthought, putting healthcare organizations at risk of data security and privacy issues, fines, damage to their reputations, with serious potential consequences for the patients. Electronic Health Record systems (EHRs) consist of clinical notes, patient listings, lab results, imaging results and screening tests. EHRs are growing in complexity over time and requiring increasing amounts of data storage. With the development of the IoT, the Cloud and Smart Cities frameworks, new privacy and security methods are being pursued to secure healthcare-based systems and platforms. Presenting a detailed framework as well as comparative case studies for security protection, data integrity, privacy preservation, scalability, and healthcare legislation, this edited volume covers state of the art research and addresses privacy and security methods and technologies for EHRs. rivacy and security methods and technologies for EHRs.rivacy and security methods and technologies for EHRs.rivacy and security methods and technologies for EHRs.
Big Data in Healthcare by
Big Data in Healthcare: Statistical Analysis of the Electronic Health Record provides the statistical tools that healthcare leaders need to organize and interpret their data. Designed for accessibility to those with a limited mathematics background, the book demonstrates how to leverage EHR data for applications as diverse as healthcare marketing, pay for performance, cost accounting, and strategic management. Topics include: using real-world data to compare hospitals' performance; measuring the prognosis of patients through massive data; distinguishing between fake claims and true improvements; comparing the effectiveness of different interventions using causal analysis; benchmarking different clinicians on the same set of patients, and more. This book can be used in introductory courses on hypothesis testing, intermediate courses on regression, and advanced courses on causal analysis. It can also be used to learn SQL language. Its extensive online instructor resources include course syllabi, PowerPoint and video lectures, Excel exercises, individual and team assignments, answers to assignments, and student-organized tutorials. Big Data in Healthcare applies the building blocks of statistical thinking to the basic challenges that healthcare leaders face every day. Prepare for those challenges with the clear understanding of your data that statistical analysis can bring--and make the best possible decisions for maximum performance in the competitive field of healthcare.
If you're having trouble finding what you need in OneSearch, you can try a single database. Many of the databases linked below will work for this project, but here are some some more detailed search strategies:
Most databases will allow you to search by keyword. You can try a general search for nursing informatics or a specific aspect of nursing informatics, such as electronic health records or EHR.
If you're not finding as much information as you'd like, try changing your search terms. You can brainstorm synonyms for your keywords, such as electronic medical records or patient record systems instead of EHR. You can also try switching to a different aspect of nursing informatics, such as nursing robotics.
If you're still having trouble, take a look at the results you've found and see what terminology they use in their writing. There may be a list of subject headings or Medical Subject Headings, or simply phrases from the abstract or the article itself, that will give you more ideas of keywords to search.
If you're searching in PubMed, it contains a list of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries, which are curated lists of resources on popular topics. See their page on MEDLINE/PubMed Search & Electronic Health Record Information Resources.
Full-text scholarly journals in the field of nursing. Allows only one user at a time.
There are many websites that contain information about nursing informatics. If your professor allows you to use them as sources for this project, check out the following:
