Forensic Sciences Research

PubMed is a freely available website that anyone can use. Many articles in PubMed are clearly marked as free to all. Other articles may have a publisher's icon but will require payment to access the full text.

To start looking for full text articles in PubMed, click the link below or in the list of library databases:

Search for your topic in PubMed.  On your list of results, look for the "Text Availability" options on the left.  Click the box next to "Free full text."

PubMed will now show you only articles that are available in Free full text.

To read an article, click on the title.  When viewing the article, look for the words "Full text links" on the right.  There should be one or more icons that link to the article or the publisher's website, where you can read the full text.

Occasionally you may see articles that are marked as having free full text but are not actually available.  If this happens, you have a couple of options:

• Search OneSearch or the library databases to see if the article is available through the library.
• Check Google Scholar to see if the article is available elsewhere for free.
• If you need this specific article, you can submit an interlibrary loan request.  (We do ask that you first look at the articles that are available in free full text, and use interlibrary loan as a last option when you need a particular piece of research.)

If you are having problems accessing full text articles in PubMed, contact a librarian.