Stevenson University subscribes to several high quality collections of digital books, or E-books. You can search for full-length books on how to write grant proposals by searching in the Catalog, or by visiting the listing of E-book databases on the library's web page. Keywords to try within your database are grantwriting or grant proposals.
A collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects.
A multi-disciplinary collection of e-books covering a wide range of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses.
Research Projects and Research Proposals by
This book is a guide to writing scientific research proposals for submission to funding agencies. It approaches the topic by placing it in the larger context of planning and carrying out a research project, offering guidance on selecting a suitable research topic, organizing and planning the project, identifying a funding agency, writing the proposal, and managing the funded project. The book also discusses the ethical responsibilities of the researcher, the proposal review process, and how to deal with declination of a proposal. The author's 25 years of experience as an NSF program officer lend the book a unique insider's perspective on the proposal writing and research funding process. Because of that experience, the author is able to anticipate and answer the questions that researchers most frequently ask when preparing to write a proposal, and also to explain how program officers think about proposals when they are making funding decisions.
Successful Grant Writing by
This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives, ' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals.
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed provides useful and practical advice on all aspects of proposal writing, including developing proposal ideas, drafting the proposal, dealing with referees, and budgeting. The authors base their advice on many years of experience writing and reviewing proposals in many different countries at various levels of scientific maturity. The book describes the numerous kinds of awards available from funding agencies, in particular large collaborative grants involving a number of investigators, and addresses the practical impact of a grant, which is often required of proposals. In addition, information is provided about selection of reviewers and the mechanics of organizing a research grant competition to give the proposal writer the necessary background information. The book includes key comments from a number of experts and is essential reading for anyone writing a research grant proposal.The Grant Writer's Handbook's companion website, featuring regularly updated resources and helpful links, can be found at www.ifm.eng.cam.ac.uk/research/grant-writers-handbook/.
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Learn to: Navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants Find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities Create strong statements of need Submit applications that meet funders' expectations Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies Grant writing can be quite daunting, but this complete guide provides you with everything you need to get started with your application right away! Use this resource, including new and updated material, to move through the entire grant-writing process and apply for some of the billions of dollars available from public and private sector sources. Grant writing 101 -- get an easy-to-understand introduction to the ins and outs of grants, including who funds them and how to receive them Know what funders want -- discover the many grant-making organizations throughout the world and how to tailor your message to what your prospects expect Tug on reviewers' heartstrings -- find out how to tell your story so peer reviewers award your application the maximum number of points The write stuff -- explore writing techniques to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding Go online and find templates for request letters, executive summaries, logic models, budget summary tables, and more Open the book and find: How to connect with grant-making agencies What goes into a grant submission How to build a great funding plan An overview of the peer review process A helpful checklist to make sure all the pieces are in place How to navigate federal grant websites Compelling words to use in applications Advice on requesting matching funds and other items
The only grant-writing book you'll ever need
by Ellen Karsh and Arlen Sue Fox
Basic Books, ©2014
SU School of Business Library HG177.5.U6 K37 2014
