Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Finding Articles, Books, and More via OneSearch

OneSearch is a library search tool that looks in several (although not all) of our library databases, as well as our catalog.  OneSearch is multidisciplinary, meaning that if you search there, you will usually find many results from different fields and disciplines, including healthcare finance:

Finding Articles & Other Materials: Choosing a Database

OneSearch searches many of our databases at the same time; however, you may also need to search discipline-specific databases to find resources for your annotated bibliography

There are three ways to find databases that will be useful to your research:

1. Research guides - Consult the library's research guide in your discipline or area of study to find librarian-recommended databases, reference resources, and web sites in your field. The research guide will also give you the contact information for the librarian who can meet with you if you need further assistance.

2. Databases by Subject - Choose from a list of databases subjects.

3. Find a Journal - Think of a particular journal that you would like to use in your research, then use our Find a Journal search to see if we have access to it and, if so, through which database(s).

Steps for Finding Articles

• Locate a database using one of the methods listed above
• Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources (e.g., peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic journals), other terms, etc.
• Use the full-text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article
• If the full-text is not available in the database, click the Full Text Finder link to see if the full-text is available in another database or in our print journals. If the full-text is not available in another database or if we do not own the print journal, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Reading and Understanding Scholarly Articles