Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Writing the Annotations

"What should I include in my annotation?" is a common question when it comes to annotated bibliographies.  Ultimately, you are evaluating the articles to determine how good the information is and how it can contribute to your final project.  Think of an annotation as an explanation or argument for why you'd use this source in your research.

A critical analysis of  the research should discuss the strengths, weaknesses and findings of the study. It should also include credibility factors like the author's qualifications and writing style and integrity factors, such as were all steps of the research process followed. There are several systems for evaluating and grading research (see AHRQ and Fawcett text on left), but some standards for research studies (qualitative research, particularly) that should be evaluated by you are:

• Specific research questions set forth
• Defined and justified sample
• Valid data collection
• Appropriate analytic methods
• Interpretations based on the data

Fink, A. (2009). Conducting Research Literature Reviews. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Understanding the Type of Article

The first thing you'll want to note about your article is what kind of source it is.  Articles often fall into one of three categories:

• Scholarly:  Articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals are written for researchers, experts, professors, and professionals in a certain field.  Scholarly articles are often classified as primary sources or original research, meaning they are studying something new in that field; or secondary sources or reviews, meaning they sum up and evaluate research that's already been done.
• Trade:  Articles from trade sources are written for working professionals in a field, but not necessarily people doing original research.  Trade articles may be news bulletins, guidelines for a certain profession or organization, press releases, or other information that helps people do their job.
• Popular:  Articles from popular sources may include newspapers, magazines, books, content from websites, and more.  These articles are written for a general audience, not only for people working or studying in a certain field.

If you are unsure about what kind of article you have, visit this page for more detail. Keep in mind that not all articles found through a library database are scholarly or peer-reviewed.

Evaluating the Source

Once you know what kind of article you have, your next job will be to decide whether you think it's generally reliable, accurate, and high-quality.  A few things to consider are:

• Author:  What are the author's credentials--institutional affiliation (where he or she works), educational background, past writings, or experience? Is the book or article written on a topic in the author's area of expertise? Is the author associated with a reputable institution or organization? What are the basic values or goals of the organization or institution?
• Date of Publication:  When was the source published? On Web pages, the date of the last revision is usually at the bottom of the home page, sometimes every page. Is the source current or out-of-date for your topic? Topic areas of continuing and rapid development, such as the sciences, demand more current information. 
• Edition or Revision:  Is this a first edition of this publication or not? Further editions indicate a source has been revised and updated to reflect changes in knowledge, include omissions, and harmonize with its intended reader's needs. Also, many printings or editions may indicate that the work has become a standard source in the area and is reliable. If you are using a Web source, do the pages indicate revision dates?
• Publisher:  Note the publisher. If the source is published by a university press, it is likely to be scholarly. Although the fact that the publisher is reputable does not necessarily guarantee quality, it does show that the publisher may have high regard for the source being published.
• Title and Scope of Journal:  What journal was the article published in, and what is the journal's purpose?  Many journals are geared toward a specific kind of research, which can be a factor in the types of articles that are published or the focus of the research being done.

Research & Learning Services, Olin Library, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA
Permission to use and adapt this information was received from Cornell University Lilbrary.

Evaluating the Research

Assuming the article itself passes muster, your final job is to evaluate the research itself.  Reading the article abstract and scanning the table of contents of a journal or magazine issue is also useful. As with books, the presence and quality of a bibliography at the end of the article may reflect the care with which the authors have prepared their work.

In the case of a book, read the preface or introduction to determine the author's intentions for the work. Scan the table of contents and the index to get a broad overview of the material it covers. Note whether bibliographies are included. Read the chapters that specifically address your topic.

Some things to consider are:

• Intended Audience:  What type of audience is the author addressing? Is the publication aimed at a specialized or a general audience? Is this source too elementary, too technical, too advanced, or just right for your needs?
• Objective Reasoning:  Is the information covered fact, opinion, or propaganda? It is not always easy to separate fact from opinion. Facts can usually be verified; opinions, though they may be based on factual information, evolve from the interpretation of facts. Skilled writers can make you think their interpretations are facts. Does the information appear to be valid and well-researched, or is it questionable and unsupported by evidence? Assumptions should be reasonable. Note errors or omissions. Are the ideas and arguments advanced more or less in line with other works you have read on the same topic? The more radically an author departs from the views of others in the same field, the more carefully and critically you should scrutinize his or her ideas. Is the author's point of view objective and impartial? Is the language free of emotion-arousing words and bias?
• Coverage:  Does the work update other sources, substantiate other materials you have read, or add new information?  Does it extensively or marginally cover your topic?
• Writing Style:  Is the information organized logically? Are the main points clearly presented? Do you find the text easy to read, or is it stilted or choppy? Is the author's argument repetitive?

Recommended Resources

For more information on how to critique a source, view the following library items: