Open Educational Resources: Finding OER

A resource for Maryland faculty to find easy-to-adopt, high-quality OER to replace expensive textbooks in college courses.

MERLOT, which comes out of the California State University System, is a high-quality clearinghouse for digital learning resources. They now provide access to over 900 open source textbooks.

Similar to MERLOT, GALILEO is an OER project that arose from a group of statewide universities and colleges in Georgia. The collection can be searched or browsed by subject, author, or course.

Large repository of many open educational resources, provided by Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). Use filters for educational level and type of material.

Part of the Open Education Network. This site includes a multitude of diverse materials within the given subjects. Format is easy to read and navigate.

Real-time federated search for OER content across 21 resources, sponsored by the George Mason University Libraries.

Ssearches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. Developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Find FREE Online Course Materials Related to a Book

Search tool hosted along with a list of recommended resources.

Compiles OER from colleges and universities worldwide

A web-based publication of MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

Community-developed OER courses hosted by Lumen Learning

Features material that can be assembled into a custom textbook. Can be searched by selecting "lenses" such as affiliation (institution to which the author belongs) and endorsement ( use this lense to locate material that has been reviewed).

Small collection of 326 textbooks in a variety of fields

Open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo.

4900 open access books from a UK-based project, focusing on the sciences (Physical Sciences, Engineering, Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, with a small selection of Social Sciences and Humanities)

Includes several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012. Saylor Academy also offers open courses.

Free books for computer programmers in python c++ and java.

Three brand-new open textbooks on the topics of nursing pharmacology, nursing skills, and nursing fundamentals, with more to come in 2022.

The School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro invites you to explore this comprehensive multi-media package that has been developed to be used individually or together to enhance nurse practitioner education. The educational materials developed include video simulations and faculty guides that integrate the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Competencies (AACN, 2016) and incorporate evidence-based guidelines in the development of the clinical cases.

A collection of wiki-formatted open source textbooks on health topics, with a focus on health issues affecting children, women, people with disabilities, and people living in areas without access to healthcare

Includes textbooks in 12 content areas, including STEM, humanities, Spanish, and more.

An open textbook by Susan M. Strouse, Genevieve B. Elrod, Karyn Butler, Chibwe Caroline Powell, and Afokoghene Odhu, featuring a list of lesson plans for topics in nursing and health.

Included a wide array of subject matter, as well as integrated lesson plans, quizzes, power points and other visual media. The company that originally produced these is defunct, but an archived collection is maintained by Lumen Learning.