At this point in your graduate career, you've done research for several courses and are likely familiar with some places to search and strategies for searching. You'll use some of those same resources and strategies for this assignment. However, due to the unique nature of this course and assignment, you may also find yourself looking in places that you may not have looked in previous courses.
Databases are still one of the best places to look for articles and books on a topic. Below are some recommended ones for this project. These databases cover several different fields -- nursing, medicine, and health; technology; business management; and education -- since this project involves all of these topics.
If you're not sure which one to use, you can start with OneSearch, which will show results from several of our databases at once.
If you'd like to search one database at a time, try some of these:
Nursing, Medicine, Health, and Technology:
Business Management, including Healthcare Management:
Education:
Sometimes you'll already know a journal you want to use -- for example, if your professor recommended a journal, or if you have a reading that was assigned in class -- but you don't know where to look to get articles from that journal. In these cases, use Find a Journal to see which database to use.
Visit the library website and click the blue 
button.
Type the title of the journal in the search box. It will tell you if SU has it and, if so, which years are available in which database(s). For example, if I want the Journal of Nursing Education, I'll need to look in CINAHL, Education Source, or Slack.
If you don't know the title of a specific journal, but you're interested in a certain topic -- for example, nursing education -- you can also type that in the box and see which journals we have on that topic.
Remember that this search is finding entire journals, not individual sources on your topic. Once you figure out which database to search in, you'll still need to go to that database and search for articles, books, book chapters, or whatever else you need.
Although books and ebooks are not usually peer-reviewed, they can be helpful for background information on a topic or product. Try some of these databases for ebooks:
Here are some suggested books and book chapters on the topic of technology in nursing education. These all came from the ebook databases listed above, so if you like the idea of using a book but they're not quite what you want, try searching for additional titles.
Chapter 11: Distance Education, Online Learning, Informatics, and Technology from Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing Education by
Reorganized and updated to deliver practical guidelines for evidence-based curricular change and development, the fourth edition of this classic text highlights current research in nursing education as a springboard for graduate students and faculty in their quest for research projects, theses, dissertations, and scholarly activities. It also focuses on the specific sciences of nursing education and program evaluation as they pertain to nursing educators. New chapters address the role of faculty regarding curriculum development and approval processes in changing educational environments; course development strategies for applying learning theories, educational taxonomies, and team-building; needs assessment and the frame factors model; ADN and BSN and pathways to higher degrees; and planning for doctoral education. The fourth edition continues to provide the detailed knowledge and practical applications necessary for new and experienced faculty to participate in essential components of the academic role--instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. At its core, the text discusses the importance of needs assessment and evidence as a basis for revising or developing new programs and highlights requisite resources. With a focus on interdisciplinary collaboration, the book addresses the growth of simulation, how to help new faculty transition into the academic role, and use of curriculum in both practice and academic settings. Additionally, the book describes the history and evolution of current nursing curricula and presents the theories, concepts, and tools necessary for curriculum development. Chapters include objectives, discussion points, and learning activities. New to the Fourth Edition: Reorganized and updated to reflect recent evidence-based curricular changes and developmentsHighlights current researchNew chapter on curriculum planning for undergraduate programsNew content on needs assessment and the frame factors modelNew content on planning for doctoral education in nursingNew content on curriculum evaluation, financial support, budget management, and use of evidence Key Features: Supports new faculty as they transition to academeAddresses the need for preparing more faculty educators as defined by the Institute of Medicine, the Affordable Care Act, and the APRN Consensus ModelDescribes the scope of academic curriculum models at every practice and academic levelThreads the concept of interdisciplinary collaboration in education throughoutServes as a CNE certification review
Game-Based Teaching in Nursing and Healthcare by
This is a comprehensive resource for anyone interested in integrating gaming and simulation into a course or the entire curricula. It presents the theory and the associated practical application. The extensive reference list and resource/product list encourage and support readers with implementation." Score: 98, 5 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews Game-Based Teaching and Simulation in Nursing and Healthcare is a timely, exhaustive look at how emerging technologies are transforming clinical education. Anyone looking for firsthand, direct account of how game-based learning technologies are reshaping clinical practice needs this book. Kurt Squire, PhD Associate Professor Games+Learning+Society GLS] School of Education University Of Wisconsin - Madison This innovative text provides practical strategies for developing, integrating, and evaluating new and emerging technology, specifically game-based learning methods, useful in nursing and clinical health sciences education. The text draws upon existing models of experiential learning such as Benner's "thinking-in-action" and "novice-to-expert" frameworks, and introduces current theories supporting the phenomenon of the created learning environment. Chapters explain how simulation and game-based learning strategies can be designed, implemented, and evaluated to improve clinical educational thinking and outcomes and increase exposure to critical experiences to inform clinicians during the journey from novice to expert. The text also describes how game-based learning methods can support the development of complex decision-making and critical thinking skills. Case studies throughout demonstrate the practical application of harnessing technology as a teaching/learning device. Key Features: Provides strategies for developing, integrating, and evaluating game-based learning methods for nursing and healthcare educators Prepares teachers for the paradigm shift from static "e-learning" to dynamic distance experiential learning in virtual and game-based environments Illustrates how to integrate game-based learning into existing curricula Offers theoretical and practical examples of how game-based learning technologies can be used in nursing and clinical education
Developing Online Learning Environments in Nursing Education by
This third edition of the best-selling nurse educator's handbook on using online teaching tools and assessing their results keeps pace with the rapid-fire progression in digital learning that has occurred since the second edition was published in 2008. Completely revised and updated, this edition presents several new interactive digital tools and current guidelines in translating courses from the classroom to the online environment. It provides new content on Web-based learning theories and how to optimally teach students using the latest technology. Additionally, this edition offers new information on staff development and a new chapter on the role of staff development educator, guides instructors on how to build an on-line community, and includes practical, proven measures for student assessment and evaluation in online education. Using a step-by-step approach, the book discusses the basics of online learning, its infrastructure, and its technical support needs. Current evidenced-based research examines teacher-student interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best-practices. The text also includes an overview of free and for-purchase technologies and describes how to choose those technologies that meet the needs of a particular teaching situation. The book is completely interactive, containing web-based tools to enhance methods and concepts. Chapters also include interactive case studies, tutorials, and exercises to enhance learning and test learning styles. This text will not only provide optimal guidance for using the Web to teach students and professional nurses skills they need to embrace best practices and achieve optimal outcomes, it will also instill in them the habits of lifelong learning. New to the third edition: Includes new web-based interactive features to promote online learning and skills Features new chapter on the nurse in staff development Provides current guidelines on translating courses from the classroom to the online environment Presents new content on Web-based learning theories and teaching with technology Includes practical measures for student assessment and evaluation in online education backed by research and consensus
The easiest way to find the full text of articles in the databases is to limit your search results to articles with the full text available. The button can be found in the left hand menu:
Within these results, you will see different types of full text:
This symbol indicates that a PDF document will open up within the CINAHL database.
This symbol indicates that the full text is contained within the CINAHL database in a web format rather than a document format.
This symbol indicates that the full text is available through another webpage, which is linked to the CINAHL database through this button.
If you are looking for a specific article but you only have the citation or abstract, use the link below to locate the complete article.
If we do not have the full text of an article you need, place a request through interlibrary loan.
For tips and suggestions on using the databases, try these tutorials:
