SU Library: NURS 310: Introduction to Clinical Nursing/NURS 311: Communication and Cultural Competence in Health Care: Finding Sources

Zaffere Library	8am – 10pm

Research Tips

Brainstorm keywords for your search. Think of alternative words for your group or other major concepts, such as Mexican, Hispanic, Hispanic-American, and Latino. Try different combinations of keywords when searching for information.
Use truncation: if you put an asterisk at the root of a word in OneSearch, you will retrieve all possible endings. For example, searching for disparit* will retrieve disparities AND disparity.
Background information about your group can be found in books, textbooks, and encyclopedias.
Articles about health disparities can be found in databases.
Become familiar with your topic and read with a critical eye. Examine each source closely for authority, reliability, currency and objectivity. Pay extra attention to these things when using web sources.

Elizabeth Fields

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Owings Mills North Campus
Philip A. Zaffere Library (PAZ) 172

443-394-9941

Subjects: Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Healthcare Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Physics, Statistical Sources, Stevenson Online

Starting Your Search with OneSearch

OneSearch is a tool that searches through several library databases, as well as the library catalog and ebook databases, all at once.

Here are some suggested searches:

YOUR GROUP NAME and "health disparities"
YOUR GROUP NAME and "health beliefs"
YOUR GROUP NAME and concepts like "health risks" or "health barriers"

The results will show journal articles, ebooks, print books, and more.

Finding Articles

If you're not finding what you need in OneSearch, it may be easier to use a single database that contains information about nursing, health, or medicine. Try the following:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains research and scholarly information in the fields of nursing and allied health. Additional resources include evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
OVID Medical Research Platform This link opens in a new window
A nursing research platform providing journals, e-books, and databases. Limited to one SU user at a time.
The Ovid subscription allows for one user at a time. If you are unable to access the Ovid database, please try again later.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 37 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Full-text articles are often available as links to other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A wide range of full-text journals, e-books, and other scholarly research materials such as conference proceedings and news briefs in the physical and biological sciences, business and economics, education, medicine, psychology, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,000 full-text journals. Useful for research in a broad range of studies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles in the behavioral sciences published by the American Psychological Association and similar groups. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database for research in psychology, behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.

Using Ebooks

Try the following recommended books for information on patients from a certain ethnic or cultural background, or search in the ebook databases below for more.

Transcultural Health Care by Larry D. Purnell
ISBN: 9780803637054
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice. Noted researchers, educators, and clinicians from a wealth of backgrounds use the Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups from a health care perspective. Each brings a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, providing a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Caring for and Understanding Latinx Patients in Health Care Settings by Laura Maria Pigozzi; Teddie M. Potter (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781785928093
Publication Date: 2020-08-21
This concise and instructive guide outlines the specific challenges faced by the Latinx population in US health care, including language barriers, unfamiliarity with the medical system, lack of insurance, access issues, monetary factors, and most importantly the fears surrounding undocumented immigrants. It shows how health care professionals and chaplains can support and care for this population in a way that acknowledges and understands the distinct characteristics of Latinx culture. It offers advice on sensitives within this culture, such as health disparities, the importance of the family, and spirituality and religion in Latinx culture. This inclusive guide improves cultural competency among non-Latinx care staff and offers case studies and practical tips to input straight into practice.

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ebook collection of nursing texts including several volumes on transcultural nursing.
Only one simultaneous user at a time for each title. If you are unable to access the R2 Digital Library, please try again later.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection of e-books covering a wide range of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses.

Using Websites

The following websites are recommended for finding statistics and more.

Health Statistics
by Elizabeth Fields Last Updated Jan 8, 2025 0 views this year

Today's Hours

Zaffere Library 8am – 10pm

More Hours

NURS 310: Introduction to Clinical Nursing/NURS 311: Communication and Cultural Competence in Health Care: Finding Sources