SU Library: NURS 310: Introduction to Clinical Nursing/NURS 311: Communication and Cultural Competence in Health Care: Finding Sources

Research Tips

Brainstorm keywords for your search. Think of alternative words for your group or other major concepts, such as Mexican, Hispanic, Hispanic-American, and Latino. Try different combinations of keywords when searching for information.
Use truncation: if you put an asterisk at the root of a word in OneSearch, you will retrieve all possible endings. For example, searching for disparit* will retrieve disparities AND disparity.
Background information about your group can be found in books, textbooks, and encyclopedias.
Articles about health disparities can be found in databases.
Become familiar with your topic and read with a critical eye. Examine each source closely for authority, reliability, currency and objectivity. Pay extra attention to these things when using web sources.

Elizabeth Fields

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Owings Mills North Campus
Philip A. Zaffere Library (PAZ) 172

443-394-9941

Subjects: Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Healthcare Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Physics, Statistical Sources, Stevenson Online

Starting Your Search with OneSearch

OneSearch is a tool that searches through several library databases, as well as the library catalog and ebook databases, all at once.

Here are some suggested searches:

YOUR GROUP NAME and "health disparities"
YOUR GROUP NAME and "health beliefs"
YOUR GROUP NAME and concepts like "health risks" or "health barriers"

The results will show journal articles, ebooks, print books, and more.

Finding Articles

If you're not finding what you need in OneSearch, it may be easier to use a single database that contains information about nursing, health, or medicine. Try the following:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database in the fields of nursing and allied health, containing research, EBP, and other professional publications
OVID Platform This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the field of nursing. Allows only one user at a time.
The Ovide subscription allows for one user at a time. If you are unable to access the Ovid database, please try again later.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Extensive database that includes research in the sciences, medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, life sciences, and more. Some content is available in full-text; other articles may be available from publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full-text journals in all sciences fields, including biology, ecology, chemistry, biochemistry, immunology, physics, medicine, nursing, psychology, mathematics, forensic sciences, biotechnology, computer science, and food research. Also includes full-text ebooks in forensics, criminal justice, psychology, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
scholarly and popular articles on a wide variety of subjects
Description: Provides access to more than 8,800 full-text periodicals. Includes publications such as, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage: Some journal content going back as far as 1887. Date coverage varies with title. Extensive full-text.
- Academic Search Complete - list of titles
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
access to full-text articles in the behavioral sciences published by the American Psychological Association and similar groups; includes related fields like education, nursing and neuroscience
Description: Database of over 191,000 full-text articles from more than 110 journals published by the American Psychological Association and related groups. Letters to the editor and errata are also included.
Coverage: Coverage from 1894 to present.
- APA PsycArticles - list of titles
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
premier database for research in psychology, behavioral sciences and mental health: also covers education and nursing
Indexing to dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.

Using Ebooks

Try the following recommended books for information on patients from a certain ethnic or cultural background, or search in the ebook databases below for more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Research Inc (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414438061
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 175 essays (that's 25 more than the previous edition) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has been completely updated and contains a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured are more than 350 photographs and illustrations, sources for further study and a general annotated bibliography.
Countries and Their Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember
ISBN: 9780028658964
Publication Date: 2003-11-01

R2 Online Library (Nursing) This link opens in a new window
ebook collection of nursing texts including several volumes on transcultural nursing.
The R2 Online subscription allows only one user at a time. If you are unable to access the R2 Online databases, please try again later.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
complete text of reference books
Description: A multidisciplinary online collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books that can be searched simultaneously by keyword or title. Subjects include multiculturalism, public health, small business, U.S. history, space science and many more.

Using Websites

The following websites are recommended for finding statistics and more.

Health Statistics
by Elizabeth Fields Last Updated Jun 26, 2024 12 views this year

Today's Hours

More Hours

NURS 310: Introduction to Clinical Nursing/NURS 311: Communication and Cultural Competence in Health Care: Finding Sources