Brazil Society and Culture Complete Report by
Need to know it all? Our all-inclusive culture report for Brazil will get up to speed on all aspects of culture in Brazil, including lifecycle, religion, women, superstitions & folklore, sports, holidays & festivals, and etiquette.
Brazil Travel Adventures by
We travel to grow a" our Adventure Guides show you how. Experience the places you visit more directly, freshly, intensely than you would otherwise a" sometimes best done on foot, in a canoe, or through cultural adventures like art courses, cooking classes, learning the language, meeting the people. This can make your trip life-changing, unforgettable. All of the detailed information you need is here about the hotels, restaurants, shopping, sightseeing. But we also lead you to new discoveries, turning corners never before turned, helping you learn about the world in a new way a" Adventure Guides make that possible. The author, a longtime resident of Brazil, is Latin America news director for ICIS, an international news agency. Comprehensive advice on the best of Brazil, from samba clubs in Rio to kayaking in the Amazon. The best hotels for every budget, from beach resorts to country inns, restaurants, attractions and activities are detailed in over 60 cities, towns and villages. How to enjoy the big cities safely a" Brasilia, Rio, SAo Paulo, Salvador. Shop-till-you-drop ideas for crystals, native handicrafts, Amazonian fetishes and more. The history, culture and music of the country are examined up-close, taking you into Brazil's samba schools, rainforests and amazing nightlife.
South American Handbook 2017 by
South America will uplift your senses with the tropical sunrising over a palm-fringed beach, or a bracing wind blowing off the southernice fields. Light can be blinding on the high-altitude salt flats, or dense andgreen in the rain forest. The gentle scent of the ripe guava fills thecountryside, but the fire of chilli from that innocent-looking jar willelectrify your taste buds. Explore the cities of prehispanic civilizations and thechurches of colonial times, immerse yourself in the present with itscelebrations and social dilemmas. Where past and present mix, there arefestivals, crafts and gastronomy, from the humble potato in its umpteenvarieties to the most sophisticated of wines. If you are looking for something more active, throw yourselfoff a giant sand dune into a lake, or climb the highest mountain. Walk in thetree-tops of the rainforest, at eye level with birds and monkeys, dance in anAndean village square to a solo violin, or to techno brega in a warehouse-sizedclub in Belem. Whatever South America inspires you to do, you will find thatthere is no limit to the passion that it fires within you. In this era of countless websites which bring images and informationfrom every barrio and pueblito, the South American Handbook gives he details onhow to navigate between each place, big or small. It is a celebration of thespirit of adventure and independence that characterizes travel in this part ofthe world. Drawing on the expertise of correspondents in the region and the experiencesof travellers, this 93rdedition of the Handbook provides the threadfrom Acandi to Ushuaia and everywhere you may wish to stop off in between. The core of the guide provides comprehensive coverage ofArgentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay,Venezuela, the Guianas, and the Falkland Islands. In addition it includes: Extensive coverageof the most famous and lesser-knownsites, from the awe-inspiring Machu Picchu and iconic Christ the Redeemer tothe wilderness of the Guianas and rolling hills of Uruguay Highlights sectionso you know what not to miss Practical informationon how to get to each country andaround, plus suggested itineraries to help you plan your trip, whether you aretravelling for a week or a month Well-researched cultural and historical backgroundsectionsavailable as an online resource Tips for travelling with your kids Overview mapfor each country and region which includes'Don't miss' destinations, local information on how to get around and detailedstreet maps where relevant Authoritative advice and recommendationsto ensure youfind the best accommodation, restaurant or local tour operator Footprint's legendary South American Handbook covers thecontinent in amazing detail, enabling you to explore for yourself. Fromspectacular carnivals to shuddering glaciers, this guide will open your way tothe irresistible spirit of the world's greatest continent. Escape the crowds with us and discover this glorious andepic continent for yourself.
