This page lists online programs and apps, ebooks, and films that will help you learn and practice a second (or third or fourth!) language.
Essential Hindi
by
This portable, user-friendly Hindi language guide and phrasebook is the cheapest and easiest way to learn Hindi before and during your trip. If you only want to purchase one Hindi language book--Essential Hindi is the way to go. Part of Tuttle Publishing's Essential Series, it is a great first introduction and beginner guide to the language of India and is also designed as a Hindi phrasebook, making it the most versatile Hindi language learning tool on the market. Perfect for business people or tourist traveling to India or for students who want to supplement their learning, this book's easy indexing feature allows it to act as a Hindi phrase book or as an English-Hindi Dictionary. A clever "point to" feature allows you to simply point to a phrase translated in Hindi without the need to say a single word or read a single character. Terms and phrases cover all your conversations via mobile phones, internet, and social media in a way that will help you make the most of the language. In addition, sentences on the essentials of travel make it easier for visitors to navigate the basics of arranging accommodations, dining out, dealing with transportation and emergencies, and much more. Essential Hindi includes: Over 1,500 necessary sentences for everyday use. A glossary containing over 2,000 terms and expressions. Extensive notes on Hindi grammar and pronunciation. A handy format for finding the information you need quickly and easily. Look up the latest Hindi vocabulary and phrases for smart phones, blogging, Facebook and Twitter. Let Essential Hindi guide you in making the right word choices when communicating with friends and business colleagues, and the world!
Cultureshock Paris
by
The 'CultureShock ' series is a dynamic and indispensable range of guides for those travellers who are looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting. Each title explains the customs, traditions, social and business etiquette in a lively and informative style.
French Slanguage
by
With this fun visual guide, simply follow the illustrated prompts and read the English words out loud with emphasis on the words in red: soon you'll be speaking French! Learn to be polite by saying "please": "See Voo Play" (S'il vous plaît). Or let someone know what a "good idea" that was: "Set Tune Bunny Day" (C'est une bonne idée). The simple icons are easy to follow and this pocket-sized guide is easy to carry with you. It will give you the basic phrases you need to get around while traveling, whether asking directions, ordering food at a restaurant, or shopping. But most of all, it's just plain fun!
Italian Slanguage
by
Learn simple Italian faster than you can say arrivederci! With this fun visual guide, simply follow the illustrated prompts and read the English words out loud: soon you'll be speaking Italian! Ask how someone is doing: "Comb Mess Tie" or say breakfast: "Cole Lot See Owe Nay." The simple icons are easy to follow and this pocket-sized guide is easy to carry with you. It will give you the basic phrases you need to get around while traveling, whether asking directions, ordering food at a restaurant, or shopping. But most of all, it's just plain fun!
Want some practice reading/speaking in other languages? Check out our ebooks, available via OneSearch and other library databases. Use the Language filter on the left and click Show More to choose from over 250 possible languages.
Search across many databases and the library catalog for an overview of the library's collections. Useful as a starting point for research to explore a broad topic, discover what resources are available, or quickly find articles.
Kanopy, our film database, includes a number of movies and documentaries in languages other than English. Use the Advanced Search to choose your language from the options on the left. Most films include subtitles and/or transcripts as well.
Includes a broad selection of over 30,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos from thousands of producers.
