Sources that provide information helpful in the selection process are (not necessarily listed in priority):
1. Information available to Administration..
2. Information available to Faculty.
3. Review sources (i.e. Booklist).
4. New title announcements reviewed and submitted by Faculty.
5. Publisher/vendor information provided by phone, by representative, or advertisement submitted online or by mail.
Some restrictions on selection. The Library does not acquire:
1. Duplicate copies.
2. Partial runs of serials.
3. Textbooks.
4. Titles already held by other members of the MIC (Maryland Interlibrary Consortium), other than those required for reserve use.
5. Titles that, by the nature of the topic, are of limited value. Such a topic is computer science. Progress in this field of study is such that a book, once off the press, might already be out of date.
6. Superseded editions.
Reference
The Library has historically relied heavily upon traditional titles in the reference collection that are in paper format. Over the last decade many of these sources, or other sources that duplicate them, have been available electronically. Electronic resources are easier to use, more flexible than paper, and help the Library achieve its goal of reaching students “where they are”. Therefore, acquisition of reference sources in paper format has been all but discontinued.
Out of print material .and replacements
The internet has made acquisition of out of print material much easier and cost effective than in the past. Hundreds of vendors now advertise their stock online and the market is very competitive. Online sources such as Abebooks.com and Amazon.com will often list many sources from which out of print material is available. If a title once in the collection is lost and out of print, or is requested by administration or faculty and out of print, it can as a rule be acquired from an online out of print source. Thus the Library will actively pursue out of print material when there is a need for it.
Replacements should be selected based on the same subject and non-subject criteria as current titles, with the addition of an assessment of the title’s past value to the collection. If a missing title is likely to reappear in the judgment of Library staff, purchasing a replacement can be delayed. Again, this is possible due to an increased availability of out of print books on the internet.
Special Collections
The Library retains in a Special Collections section in the Workroom, several collections that are judged to be of sufficient value so as to require restricted access. Among these are:
1. A small collection of antiquarian material- due to cost this collection is not added to unless a valuable item is part of a gift.
2. A number of heavily illustrated volumes devoted to animated cartoons, which were the property of the late Rodolpho “Fito” Vidal.
3. A collection of books written by speakers who appeared as part of the Baltimore Speakers Series, each signed by its author. These are presented at the discretion of each speaker taking part in the series. The Special Assistant to the President that directs the Series facilitates these gifts.
4. The Greenspring Valley Collection. Books relating to the history and culture of the Greenspring Valley. Since such material exists in very small quantity, no titles have been added since the collection was initiated. The Library expects to add supporting material in the future.
Casual Reading
The Zaffere Library offers collection of fiction and non-fiction books meant for recreational use by students and other patrons.
Format (hardcover or paperback)
Format should be selected on the librarian’s judgment as to the lasting value of the work to the University community. Due to the increasing price of books and the large amount of material the Library collects on current issues, the preference will be nearly always for paperback when available.
Weeding
Weeding is the removal of material from the collection that is no longer of use to its users. The following circumstances should be considered when weeding:
1. A title has been superseded by a newer edition.
2. A title has had little or no circulation over the past year.
3. A title that has as subject a topic that was of interest when acquired but is not of current interest.
4. Back runs of serials that are available electronically.
5. Damaged material that is not being considered for replacement.
6. Any superfluous copies (more than one).
