Education Research

Reference books are useful for topic overviews and definitions of educational concepts. A very good, fairly recent article from a specialized encyclopedia like those listed here, and online, can help you to determine how your subject has changed over time, and how narrow or broad it is. You can also use the bibliographies at the conclusion of each article to locate proven recommended additional sources for your research. Just below are a few excellent encyclopedias relevant to the field of Education, in print and online.

Encyclopedia of Education "offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes" (from GVRL database description).

Learning Theories A-Z is "a substantive dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments. Definitions range from approximately 100 to 700 words, and each term is identified by the primary type of learning theory to which it applies: cognitivism, constructivism, behaviorism, humanism, or organizational learning. An annotated bibliography provides further resources to the most important writings about learning theories." (from publisher's blurb).  In print at the Zaffere Library with the call number REF LB15.L4695 2002.

You can search the Library Catalog to find books owned by Stevenson University. You'll find both print and online works.

Search the catalog: