Using the keywords you came up with on the previous page, search these library resources for articles, books, and more:
OneSearch searches our library catalog for books and ebooks and many of our databases for articles. You can often find a large number of resources on many topics, including pathophysiology.
If you're having trouble narrowing down your results in OneSearch, try one of these databases. The majority of sources in the databases will be scholarly articles. Articles are best for providing a narrow focus on a certain topic, such as "Pulmonary thromboembolism in AIDS patient with chronic venous insufficiency, pulmonary tuberculosis and breast cancer: a case report and pathophysiology review."
Contains research and scholarly information in the fields of nursing and allied health. Additional resources include evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Includes more than 31 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
A nursing research platform providing journals, e-books, and databases. Limited to one SU user at a time.
If you need more background information, try some of these database that contain ebooks, or these specific recommended books. Books are best for providing general background information. In our example of the patient with AIDS, you could look for:
Or all three!
A multi-disciplinary collection of e-books covering a wide range of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses.
A collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
Oxford Textbook of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease by
Stroke is a major health concern worldwide, and the epidemiological data is staggering. One in six people will have a stroke during the course of their life; it is the second most common cause of death; and stroke also ranks second among causes contributing to the global burden of disability.However, the burden of stroke can be alleviated: it is potentially preventable, treatable, and possible to manage long term. Despite continuing advances in our knowledge about this disease, there is currently still a large evidence-to-clinical practice gap in all regions.The Oxford Textbook of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease is a comprehensive textbook on clinical stroke, covering all major aspects of cerebrovascular disease including epidemiology, risk factors, primary prevention, pathophysiology, diagnostics, clinical features, acute therapies, secondaryprevention, prognosis, and rehabilitation. It makes use of current pedagogic principles, and includes not only aspects on management in the acute hospital phase of stroke, but also public health issues, prevention, long-term management, and silent vascular disease (which is becoming increasinglyepidemic in the general population). Topical aspects also include advice to improve clinical skills in examination, diagnosing, and treating stroke. The text also covers the fields of silent cerebrovascular disease (silent brain infarcts, microbleeds, white matter ischemic abnormalities) that morerecently have been recognized to be highly prevalent in the general population, and that carry important risks on vascular events and cognitive decline/dementia.Chapters are written by a most distinguished group of international experts in the field of stroke from around the world, and have been carefully edited to ensure consistency in style and clarity of contents. The concurrent online version allows access to the full content of the textbook, containslinks from the references to primary research journal articles, allows full text searches, and provides access to figures and tables that can be downloaded to PowerPointRG.Practical, easy to use, yet detailed with respect to pathophysiology, diagnostics, and management, this text provides a source of reference for the detection and management of all stroke and less common cerebrovascular diseases for practising and trainee neurologists, geriatricians, and all strokephysicians and clinicians.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by
The second edition of this incisive book, based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, addresses the potentially challenging topic of culture in a forthright style. It is a valuable resource in today's team-based healthcare environment, preparing health professionals, regardless of setting, to conduct in-depth assessments of individuals and families from culturally specific population groups. This book will appeal to all healthcare workers in all fields, and it is particularly suitable for nurses interacting with patients in very diverse settings. This book delves into 32 different cultures and areas of support common to all individuals and families that health professionals must recognize and consider. African American, American Indian, Brazilian, Cuban, Chinese, Korean and Filipino, but also Arab, Hindu or Haitian, as well as many European heritages are examined among others. Brand new chapters explore Greek, Italian, Jamaican, Thai, and Ukrainian heritages. For each culture, chapters detail communication styles, family roles, workforce issues, biocultural ecology and high-risk health behaviours. Also discussed are nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the perceptions of traditional, magico-religious, and bio-medical healthcare providers. Culture's characteristics - such as age, generation, gender, religion, educational/marital/parental/socioeconomic or even military status, but also political beliefs, physical characteristics, sexual orientation or gender issues - determining the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping are discussed. At the end of each chapter, readers are provided with specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population. Additionally, reflective exercises help the reader reinforce the concepts presented in each chapter. For this second edition, most of the chapters are authored by individuals who either identify with the culture being addressed in the chapter or have personal knowledge of the culture via life experiences.
Transcultural Health Care by
Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice. Noted researchers, educators, and clinicians from a wealth of backgrounds use the Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups from a health care perspective. Each brings a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, providing a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Caring for and Understanding Latinx Patients in Health Care Settings by
This concise and instructive guide outlines the specific challenges faced by the Latinx population in US health care, including language barriers, unfamiliarity with the medical system, lack of insurance, access issues, monetary factors, and most importantly the fears surrounding undocumented immigrants. It shows how health care professionals and chaplains can support and care for this population in a way that acknowledges and understands the distinct characteristics of Latinx culture. It offers advice on sensitives within this culture, such as health disparities, the importance of the family, and spirituality and religion in Latinx culture. This inclusive guide improves cultural competency among non-Latinx care staff and offers case studies and practical tips to input straight into practice.
Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests by
Ordering the right test at the right time can be a complex process. The revised and updated Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests , 10th edition is here to end the confusion. This practical, everyday guide expertly answers the questions physicians most often ask regarding individual disease states, lab tests, and infectious disease assessments. Recommendations are given on when to order tests and how to interpret results, based on evidence-based laboratory medicine. Explore the sample chapter now, and see how this guide will help you save time, avoid errors, and diagnose properly. Features: NEW chapters on genitourinary disorders and transfusion medicine NEW information on pulmonary, cardiac, and neurologic disease states, HLA, obstetric and gynecologic disorders, and molecular diagnostics NEW authors, including specialists in Cardiovascular Medicine, Transfusion Medicine and Pathology A completely revamped cardiovascular chapter with NEW symptoms (Dyspnea, Syncope, Sudden Cardiac Arrest), written by a Cardiovascular Medicine Specialist Includes current molecular diagnostic testing, cytogenetics, common pitfalls, test limitations, and identification of appropriate tests for specific clinical presentations Test sensitivity, specificity, and positive and negative infectious disease probabilities included where appropriate Detailed descriptions of routine and lesser-known tests listed alphabetically, with guidance on when to order and how to interpret results Improved and enhanced index Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
We've created guides for similar assignments and topics. For more resources and suggestions, try these guides:
