This guide contains links to resources on project planning and management, budgeting, and grants. If you'd like help in doing research for this course, contact your librarian for the School of Nursing and Health Professions:
These information sources from Stevenson University Library can help you find articles, books, and book chapters related to creating business plans, budgeting and grant writing in healthcare.
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd Edition by
Nurses focus on the art and science of caregiving, but nurse managers are faced with the economic reality of patient-staffing ratios, budgets, reports, and accounting. Acronyms such as FTEs and ADCs can feel like a foreign language, but thankfully, help is available. Updated to include details about key legislation that will affect budgeting, The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd Edition, provides practical tools, tips, and strategies for running a unit that you weren't taught in nursing school: Operating and capital budget development and planning for the yearFormulas and calculations for full-time employee hours, variances, and benefit costsExplanation of financial statements, budgets, and reimbursement documentsThe relationship between high reliability organizations (HROs) and finance/budgetsDifferences between not-for-profit and for-profit institutions
Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders, Third Edition by
Written by and for nurses, this key foundational text helps to build the fundamental economics and financial management skills nurses and nurse leaders need for daily use. This third edition delivers several new features, adding to its value as the only timely and relevant text written for the full spectrum of RN-to-BSN, BSN, and MSN students. It has been significantly revised to simplify content, to address the vast changes in and increasing complexity of U.S. health care financing, and to be useful in both traditional in-class format and hybrid and online programs. Two new and refocused chapters address assessing financial health and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management, and new material illuminates recent research findings and statistics. Chapters feature worksheets such as business plan checklists and text boxes expanding on key chapter content. The book is distinguished by its provision of case examples based on nurse-run clinic and inpatient nursing unit financial issues. It provides multiple opportunities for experiential learning, such as writing business plans and health program grant proposals. It delivers cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses, discusses budget preparation, offers strategies for controlling budget costs, and updates relevant health policies and statistics. The text's engaging format promotes the synthesis of economics and finance across the nursing curriculum through the use of end-of-chapter exercises, discussion questions, and games based on concepts within the text. Additionally, tips throughout the book alert students about the need to apply concepts from other aspects of their education to economic and financial situations. Also included are online supplemental materials for teachers and students, including Excel spreadsheets, grant proposals, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. New to the Third Edition: Updates health reform, health care spending, and other relevant policies and statistics Includes two new and refocused chapters that address assessing the financial health of a business and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management Highlights recent research findings and key concepts in text boxes Provides blank and completed worksheets, such as business plan checklists, so nurses can apply financial concepts in their clinical settings Fosters understanding of key concepts with enhanced explanations and samples of business plans and other reports Key Features: Aligned with AACN and AONE guidelines, the CNL certification exam, and QSEN competencies Serves as a primary financial management text for multiple nursing academic programs Facilitates experiential learning through end-of-chapter exercises, games, tips for synthesizing knowledge, worksheets, and case examples Designed for use in traditional classrooms and in hybrid and online learning programs Includes a chapter on measuring nursing care with indicators for capacity, staffing, patient acuity, performance, and patient flow NEW a FREE Q&A App is availabel (see inside front cover)
Winning Business Plans by
Are you keen to create a brilliant business plan but not sure how to go about it? Get a kick-start with this little book which will give you just enough to get you going...
The Nurse's Grant Writing Advantage by
Grantwriting can be an intimidating concept for nurses. This book will break the process down into easily understood steps for nurses who are writing a grant proposal for the first time or who have submitted previous grants but want to do so more effectively. Featuring lists, tips, tricks, and quick references, this book makes it easy for any nurse to understand whats involved. Written in the lively and engaging Q&A style of STTIs popular Nurses Advantage series, with lots of tips, notes, cautions, and chapter ending FAQs & Take-Away Tips.
Successful Grant Writing by
This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
The topic of health care management has escalated to one of the most widely discussed and debated topics in the health care industry, MBA programs, and in the field of medicine in general. In the 1980s, the industry was relatively stable and the need for combining business acumen with medicine was less than today. However, as we enter the 21stcentury, the need for applying business and management skills to the health care industry is stronger than ever. This Encyclopediacovers every topic a medical professional, institutional administrator, or MBA student would need to know about the business of health care. Key Features * Over 600 entries * More than 160 expert contributors from the fields of medicine, public health, business * Tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, health care acronyms, medicallegislation * Unites the business and medical worlds, and spans the academic, corporate, and governmental arenas Topics Covered Accounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy
