This course includes two Managerial Epidemiology and Statistics Problem Papers:
This guide provides resources to get you started on both papers. If you'd like more help as you're doing research for your projects, contact your librarian for the School of Nursing and Health Professions:
For paper 1, your first step will be to choose the chronic disease you're going to research. Since you'll be using this disease in both papers, it's important that you're able to find enough background research about it. Many students choose topics that they're personally interested in or passionate about, but can become frustrated if there aren't enough sources about the topic. On the other hand, a topic with too many sources can also be challenging because there are so many articles, books, and websites to look through.
Here are some possible topics, but not all of these would be good choices for your papers. Why or why not?
It's a good idea to do a little bit of background research to ensure that there will be enough (but not too much) information for you. One place to start is OneSearch, which searches several (though not all) of our library databases as well as our library catalog . You can often find a large number of resources, including articles, books, and ebooks, on many topics.
Take a quick look and see how many results you get. You can also use Google or another search engine to do the same search on the web.
Browsing books, newspapers, or the internet can give you ideas about possible chronic diseases to choose for your paper. Try some of these websites or articles for a list of suggestions:
Once you've chosen a chronic disease, you'll research it for paper 1. You can find articles in OneSearch or these databases. The majority of sources in the databases will be scholarly articles. Articles are best for providing a narrow focus on a certain topic.
Full-text scholarly journals in the field of nursing. Allows only one user at a time.
Because you'll be looking for some general background information on your disease, books and ebooks can also be helpful. They are best for a broad overview or history of a topic. You can find books in OneSearch, or these databases:
Full-text nursing textbooks and ebooks. Only one user allowed at a time for each title
collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects
One of the requirements for this paper is to include two visuals (tables, graph, or pie charts). Many articles and websites include tables and graphs, but it can be tricky to figure out which ones. However, the advanced search in many of the library databases can help.
In OneSearch or any of the other EBSCO databases, click "advanced search" and scroll to the bottom to look for these options:
By checking the boxes, you'll be able to find only articles that include graphs, charts, and/or diagrams.
