SU Library: FMER 323: Fashion Product Merchandising: Contents

Apparel & Retail Trends from Library Databases

WGSN This link opens in a new window
Image-rich trend forecasting site for fashion, fashion merchandising, and design. Sections on FUTURE STRATEGIES, RESEARCH & CREATE, and BUYING & RETAIL are of particular interest for this course.
WGSN Terms of Use: 1. Do not print out more than 1 copy of any page from the WGSN site and do not download any of the WGSN site onto a disc. 2. You can use extracts of WGSN content to form a collage of ideas, either electronically or in hard copy, but always mark the collage “© WGSN”, use your collage only within Stevenson University and do not make any further copies of your collage. 3. The restrictions and requirements in rules 1 and 2 do not apply to content marked “WGSN Downloadable” – you can print as many copies of this content as you like, save it to disc and there are no collage restrictions. 4. Do not email any link or content from the WGSN site to anyone else, unless the content is part of the WGSN Ideas Studio and then you may only email Ideas Studio content to another WGSN Stevenson University user. 5. Students may use WGSN only as part of their studies at Stevenson University and not for any other reason. For example, you may not use WGSN to carry out work on any work placement you might have. 6. Stevenson University teaching staff may use WGSN only to teach students and not for any other reason. For example, you may not use WGSN to write any commissioned articles. 7. No one can use WGSN for personal or financial gain. For example, do not use images on items of clothing or other fabric. 8. Stop using the WGSN site as soon as you are told to do so by Stevenson University.
Women’s Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of Women's Wear Daily covering the fashion industry beginning in 1910. Includes high resolution inages, articles, and advertisements with searchable text. Does not include issues from the last six months.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Vogue magazine from 1892-present includes articles, images, and advertisements. Print copies of current issues are also available in the library.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering foreign and domestic businesses. Includes business overviews, competitor information, financial statements, and industry reports.

First Research Reports can now be found in D&B Hoovers under the "Search & Build a List" menu by clicking on "Research & Reports." From the Research and Reports page, chose the Report Type of "First Research Report." Please contact the library with any questions.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company profiles for public and private US and international companies including business descriptions, financial, industry profiles, competitor information and comparison tools. Includes comprehensive financial statements in multi-year increments.

Apparel & Retail Trends Online

WWD
Access articles from the leading fashion industry publication.
RIS News
Formerly Apparel Magazine, RIS News reports on the latest retail technology trends and insights.
National Retail Federation
Trade group for the retail industry that provides insights into industry drivers and trends along with information on consumer attitudes and shopping habits.

Apparel & Retail Trends Reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive online database of statistics, market research reports, and data across a wide range of topics like business, finance, technology, media, politics, and society.

You can find more trend reports online through quick searches. For example: apparel trends 2024, fashion sustainability trends, activewear trends, etc.

Be sure to explore the library resources, especially WGSN. The library sources have trend information from experts who constantly track the apparel and apparel retail industry for upcoming trends. Online you might find something interesting only to discover it is from a personal blog not written by an expert.

Consumer publications, such as magazines and websites, are another good source. These publications include information from people who are knowledgeable about the field and writing for a broad audience:

Apparel & Retail Trends in Books

Retail Futures by Eleonora Pantano (Editor)
ISBN: 9781838676643
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
Retail Futures presents a comprehensive collection of new theory, original empirical evidence, and applied case studies synthesizing the emerging contributions in innovation and technology management for the retailing sector. The book analyses theories, frameworks and guidelines for successfully managing innovation in retailing, empirical research on retailers and consumer behavior when facing innovation in retail settings, ethical considerations and privacy issues, and case studies of retailers and innovation.

This is an ebook. Read it online at the above link.
Retail Buying by Richard Clodfelter
ISBN: 9781501375729
Publication Date: 2022-12-15
Retail Buying, Seventh Edition integrates math concepts throughout the text to guide students through typical buying tasks, from identifying potential customers, to creating a six-month merchandising plan, to developing sales forecasts. Updated with examples and trends from across the world, this book will keep readers informed on how the retailing industry is adapting to changes like an increased focus on sustainability, the growth of digital retailing, and impacts from the coronavirus pandemic.

This book is on reserve in the Zaffere Library and can be borrowed for 1 day.

Retail Calculators & Formulas

Sales & Retail Calculators from Calculator Soup
List of calculators important in the retail environment. Includes real-time calculators, formulas, and explanations.
Fundamental Retail Math Formulas from Toolio
Formulas and definitions for retail calculations.
The Top 15 Most Useful Retail Math Formulas
From "the balance: small business" this post explains the purpose of the most useful retail math formulas along with the actual formulas.
Invoice Due Date Calculator
Managing your business’ cash flow can be difficult, but knowing how long you have to pay your invoices (and how long you have to wait to be paid by your customers) can make budgeting and managing your cash flow that much easier. Use altLINE’s invoice due date calculator below to see when your invoices are due by based on your invoice payment terms.

Consumer Profile and Information

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Annual survey from the Bureau of Labor Statistics reporting out what Americans spend on food, apparel, housing, entertainment, and more.
US Census QuickFacts
From the US Census, this tool gives top line demographic information for all locations in the US with populations over 5,000. Select multiple locations for comparison of demographics in different geographic areas. Search by zip code, state, county or city to find the information you need.
City-Data
City-Data offers detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States, with information ranging from crime rates to weather patterns
Claritas My Best Segments (PRIZM)
Segmentation tool useful in finding psychographic characteristics for demographic and geographic groups.
Pew Research Center
A part of the Pew Charitable Trusts, this resource provides information on the attitudes, opinions and behaviors of the american public. This non-partisan organization conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Buyers & Purchasing Agents Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Buyers & Purchasing Agents
from The US Bureau of Labor Statistics
SU's Career Connection
This links to the SU Now portal page for Career Connections. Note that if you are off-campus you will be prompted to log in to the portal.

Today's Hours

More Hours

FMER 323: Fashion Product Merchandising