These news articles about the Elgin/Parthenon Marbles may be helpful in preparing your arguments.
Note: As a Stevenson University student, you have free, full access to the entirety of the NY Times' website. For instructions for signing up for your free access to the NYTimes website, click here.
Law review articles can provide an excellent summary of the history and issues involved in the Elgin/Parthenon marbles dispute. You can find a manageable list by doing the following search in Nexis Uni:
These articles from the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law may provide a better understanding of some of the legal principles involved.
A fermaun (or firman or ferman) was originally a royal mandate or decree issued by a leader in an Islamic state. The word fermaun comes from Persian meaning "decree" or "order".
Lord Elgin alleged that he had obtained this fermaun from Selim III, Sultan of Turkey (Greece, at this time, was part of the Ottoman Empire).
Using the flip view and slider may make navigation easier.
NOTE: The page number to the right of the slider is a page scan number and does not correspond to the page number in the book. The Jump button allows you to navigate by page number or page scan number.
The Fermaun is Document no. 10 on p. xxiv of the book (page scan number 428).
The Table of Contents for the Report of the Select Committee and a list of witnesses, including Lord Elgin can be found facing p. 224 of the book (page scan number 250).
You can also use the "Search in this text" box to look for particular words like permission or fermaun.
Whose Culture? by 
A History of Loot and Stolen Art by 
The Nation and Its Ruins by 
The Culture of Collecting in Britian since 1760 by 
Greek Architecture and Its Sculpture by 
The Real Life of the Parthenon by A non-profit digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Artstor content is now included in JSTOR.
Full-text coverage from 1980 - to present on the Proquest database platform. The content is fully digitized and searchable, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements to reviews and advertisements. Print copies of current issues are also available in the library.
Contains the full-text of The Wall Street Journal business newspaper from 1984-present on the Proquest platform. Print copies of current weekend editions are also available in the library.
A non-profit digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Artstor content is now included in JSTOR.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,000 full-text journals. Useful for research in a broad range of studies.
Once you've used the law review articles and background articles to understand the issues, you may want to try OneSearch. One good search phrase is:
"Parthenon marbles" OR "Elgin marbles"
Use the left hand menu to limit your results. You could limit to books or academic journals. Some of your results may be primary sources such as letters or descriptions of the sculptures dating from the time of their removal from Greece to Great Britain.
For a selection of images on this topic in ARTstor, go to Advanced Search and search for British Museum in Repository and Parthenon In Any Field. You could also try the same search using Elgin instead of Parthenon
A non-profit digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Artstor content is now included in JSTOR.
