CHS 220: Diversity and Cultural Competence: Language Pronunciation Help

Based on extensive fieldwork that spanned more than 50 years, this comprehensive dictionary is a monumental achievement and will help to preserve this American Indian language that is nearing extinction.

A Dictionary of Skiri Pawnee is the first dictionary ever published of a Caddoan language. Formerly an independent tribe living along the North Fork of the Loup River in central Nebraska, the Skiris united with South Band Pawnee groups in the late eighteenth century, and in 1874–76 they were forced to abandon their reservation in central Nebraska for a new reservation that became Pawnee County in north-central Oklahoma, where most Skiris live today. The volume comprises approximately 4,500 entries that represent the basic vocabulary of the Skiri language. To assist users, the introduction features a description of the Skiri sound system and an alphabet, as well as a short description of Skiri grammar that outlines the categories and constituent morphemes composing Skiri words. The first section of the dictionary presents entries arranged alphabetically by English glosses; the second section is arranged alphabetically by Skiri words and stems. Separate appendixes provide representative conjugations of Skiri verbs, a list of irregular verb roots, and charts of kinship terms. The dictionary is the culmination of a fifteen-year collaboration between Douglas R. Parks and Lula Nora Pratt, a native Skiri speaker. Primary sources of Skiri vocabulary and English translations include Pratt herself, recordings of traditional narratives made by Harry Mad Bear and Sam Allen in the 1960s, and historical texts by Roaming Scout. Supplementary sources of data come from other Skiri speakers who collaborated for shorter periods in the late 1960s.

Twenty-five years ago, when Blair Rudes first began his research, there were still some fifty individuals who had learned Tuscarora as a first language and spoke it fluently. Rudes, who had the benefit of working with many of these speakers, has based his dictionary on their teachings. In addition, he draws from the extensive documentation of the language that dates back some 300 years. Tuscarora is an Iroquoian language originally spoken by inhabitants of the Carolinas. Forced to flee northward in the early eighteenth century, the Tuscaroras are centred today in two main localities: the Six Nations Reserve at Grand River, Ontario, and the Tuscarora Indian Nation Reservation near Lewiston, New York. Only four or five Tuscaroras now remain who can speak their language fluently. The dictionary is designed for use by the Tuscaroran people in reclaiming their language, and by anthropologists, historians, teachers, and linguists.

A Concise Hopi and English Lexicon is a lexical research tool for persons interested in the Hopi language. An effort has been made to include the most frequent forms of basic roots. The work is designed to serve as wide-ranging an audience as possible: Hopi speakers as well as those not fluent in this language, the scholar as well as the general reader. The lexicon treats the Third Mesa dialect and the vocabulary items are limited to items of common usage. The work is presented in two sections: the first and main section is Hopi-English and the second is an English-Hopi index.

This up-to-date resource for the linguistic and cultural heritage of the Anishinaabe contains ancient and modern words and meanings.

This dictionary contains 120,000 words and phrases featuring American English and Latin American Spanish, extensive sample sentences and phrases, and a comprehensive grammar section.

The fast and easy way to learn to speak Brazilian Portuguese. Quick! What's the most widely spoken language in South America? That's right, Portuguese! And what's the fastest, easiest, most enjoyable way to learn Portuguese? Portuguese for Dummies, of course! This fun, friendly guide helps you start speaking Brazilian Portuguese immediately! Whether you're a student, a traveler, or you work in business or government, you'll love its practical lessons, cultural facts, and handy references-including a Portuguese-English mini-dictionary, lists of vital verbs, and more! Have everyday conversations in Portuguese Make sense of Portuguese grammar Use idioms and popular expressions Improve your pronunciation Grasp verb conjugations Get around in Portuguese-speaking countries Portuguese For Dummies comes complete with a CD loaded with real-life dialogues that help you understand and pronounce this lovely, lyrical language with ease.

This book is available online through the Stevenson University Library.

This dictionary is an eBook available through the Stevenson University Library.

This Durorp-English Dictionary is an eBook available through the Stevenson University Library.

Somali people speak quite a number of languages and dialects, Maay and Mahaa being the lingua franca of the majority. In 1972, the latter was put in a written format and became the national language of the country. This experiment alienated the other Somali languages and produced tremendous disenchantment, particularly on the part of the Maay speakers. In 2003, however, the Somali Peace and Reconciliation Conference at Mbegathi, Kenya, acknowledged that Maay will be another official language of the Somali Republic. This English-Maay Dictionary is the first experiment exploring the roots of Maay language and its relationship to the other Somali dialects as well the Kushitic family of languages in the Horn of Africa. The dictionary provides over 15,000 of the most frequently used words in Maay and their English translations, with numerous examples of their every day usage. The dictionary is a vital addition to reference collections supporting undergraduate and graduate programs on African and Middle Eastern Studies. It is also an essential tool for non-Somali case workers such as those in refugee camps, immigration and naturalization officials or lawyers dealing with Somali asylum seekers. It is equally a vital tool for interpreters and translators working on court cases, hospitals and legal papers as well as for public school teachers on ESL programs that teach Maay- speaking children in English- speaking countries.

The fast and easy way to learn to speak Modern Standard Arabic Regarded as one of the most difficult languages to learn for native English speakers, Arabic is gaining global prominence and importance. Recent world events have brought more and more English speakers into contact with Arabic-speaking populations, and governments and businesses are increasingly aware of the importance of basic Arabic language skills. Arabic For Dummies presents the language in the classic For Dummies style. Taking a straightforward and practical approach to this complex language, it's packed with practice dialogues and communication tips that will have you talking the talk in no time. The Arabic alphabet, pronunciation, basic grammar, and the rules of transliteration The history of the language and information on classical Arabic and its dialects-focusing on Modern Standard Arabic How to make small talk and make yourself understood when dining, shopping, or traveling around town How to communicate on the phone and in business conversations Handy words and phrases for dealing with money, directions, hotels, transportation, and emergencies Arabic culture and etiquette, including ten things you should never do in Arabic countries Recognizing Arabic symbols and characters The book also includes an Arabic-English dictionary, verb tables, and an audio CD with dialogues from the book to help you perfect your pronunciation Written by a native Arabic speaker who helped start a year-round Arabic department at Middlebury College, Arabic For Dummies is just what you need to start making yourself understood in Arabic. CD-ROM and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase.

Based on The Megiddo modern dictionary, English-Hebrew, by E. A. Levenston and R. Sivan.

Thumb-indexed edition A hundred years of experience in dictionary publishing lies behind this edition of the famous Cassell's French Dictionary. After more than thirty impressions of the previous edition this entirely new dictionary has been compiled by a team of eminent linguists. Reviewing the new dictionary The Times Educational Supplement said: "One handles this dictionary with the same pleasure that a craftsman feels when he finds that a tool, dulled and blunted by long use and passage of time, has come back sharpened and polished, refurbished and fit once more for long years of useful service. Everyone has his testing-points for a dictionary and the present reviewer, after submitting this one to the ordeal, awarded it a tentative full marks. Its minor defects pale into insignificance before the scholarly achievement of a work for which the publishers can rightly claim that it is ?the most authoritative, up-to-date and, within the limits of size, the most comprehensive French dictionary available."

The fast and easy way to learn to speak Mandarin Chinese. China has become a major influence in the world today, and Mandarin Chinese is the world's most widely spoken language. Not only is China full of opportunities in business and politics, but Chinese culture, continues to make its way into the western world. With an updated CD including real-life conversations, Chinese For Dummies expands grammar, verb conjugations, and pronunciations-and includes a refreshed mini-dictionary complete with even more essential vocabulary. Basic vocabulary Everyday conversations, including phone dialogue and small talk Speaking in perfect pitch and tone Easy-to-understand grammar rules Getting around in a Chinese-speaking country Cultural references like maintaining face, dining etiquette, and social mores Also included is an audio CD that features actual Chinese conversations by native Chinese speakers, which allows you to hear how Chinese is really spoken. Written by a leading Chinese language teacher in the United States, Chinese for Dummies introduces an often-daunting language to you in a fun-and-easy For Dummies manner.

Reprint. Originally published: Shanghai : American Presbyterian Mission Press, 1867.
Includes index.