SU Library: Family and Domestic Violence Research Guide: Articles

Subject Databases

Research on family violence can be found in many disciplines. The databases listed below cover this complex area from different points of view. Here are some search terms that may be helpful: domestic violence, abusive parents, battered children, elder abuse, spousal abuse. abused men, addictive love, cycle of violence.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Description: Contains more than 2.3 million records. It contains 850 full-text journals dating back to 1903. Books, monographs, and conference papers are also indexed.
Coverage: Some journal content dating back to 1903. Date coverage varies with title.
SocINDEX - list of titles
ERIC This link opens in a new window
a database in the field of education, ERIC includes articles and studies about drug and other addictions in youth
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Indexing to dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.

Multidiscplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases contain magazine, newspaper and journal articles as well as other materials on many different topics. Lots of material is available full-text through the database. Here are a few of the most popular used at SU. When you type in terms, try to think of all the different words related to your topic. If, for example, you're looking for material on marital abuse, be sure to perform the search again using the term spousal abuse.

Academic Search Complete has scholarly and popular articles on a wide variety of subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

Description: Provides access to more than 8,800 full-text periodicals. Includes publications such as, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage: Some journal content going back as far as 1887. Date coverage varies with title. Extensive full-text.
Academic Search Complete - list of titles
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

The Science of Human Services

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
a database primarily for nursing research, but there is lots of useful information for all health and human services professionals
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
over 1500 full-text titles in biology, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, medicine, psychology
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
collection of consumer health information
Magill's Medical Guide This link opens in a new window
Full-text medical guide that includes articles on diseases and conditions, treatments, social issues and other topics
PubMed This link opens in a new window
includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals

PubMed also includes links to full text articles and other related resources

Journals

Journal of Family Violence

For a complete listing of journals about family and marriage and where to find the full-text, click here.

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Fields

she/her

Email Me

Contact:
Owings Mills North Campus
Philip A. Zaffere Library (PAZ) 172
443-394-9941

Subjects: Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Sciences, Forensic Studies, Healthcare Management, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Statistical Sources, Stevenson Online

Today's Hours

More Hours

Family and Domestic Violence Research Guide: Articles

Subject Databases

Multidiscplinary Databases

The Science of Human Services

Journals

Subject Guide