While many web sites include primary sources, some of the most reliable come from libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and colleges or universities. Some sites focus on regional or local history; some are national or international in scope. Digitization now allows access to sources that were once only available to a handful of scholars.
Remember that not all history web sites include primary sources. Avoid sites that simply retell history or create historical fiction. You should look for well documented, digitized images or accurately transcribed texts. If you are in doubt, don't use it! Primary sources are the real thing.
The list of links below is a tiny sampling of what is available, but it will get you started. Some of these sites point you to further links. Most of these sites emphasize American history, but there is no limit to time or geography once you start your research.
A veritable treasure trove of online primary sources. Some of the highlights include:
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
A commercial site that includes transcriptions of speeches, as well as audio and video when available. (Some audio is read by someone other than the original speaker.) Includes popular culture objects, such as Abbott and Costello's "Who's On First," and movie speeches.
Under the Freedom of Information Act, the FBI has made thousands of documents available online. Browse the Categories list or search the A-Z index. (The list is loosely based on the alphabet and sorts by first name not last name.)
Note: Some longer documents are only summarized. Many documents have had text redacted to protect national security or personal privacy.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
From the Thurgood Marshall Law Library. A large repository of full-text documents covering all aspects of civil rights. Browse documents by subject groupings.
Making of America (Cornell University)
Making of America (University of Michigan)
A collaborative digital library of periodicals and books from 19th century America. Each site searches its own unique collection.
Explore our nation's historical documents, visit the online exhibits or roam the Digital Vaults.
NPR's audio archives go back as far as 1996. Search by clicking the magnifying glass icon at the top of the page. Listen to contemporary accounts of news events, interviews and more. Individual entries often offer links to related stories. Many interviews are with people recounting historical events they witnessed.
National Visionary Leadership Project Oral History Archive
Explore NVLP's archive of video interviews with African Americans from many walks of life, some well known, others not, who share their stories.
Online Exhibits and Digital Projects
From the National Library of Medicine. Includes many archival primary documents, texts and images related to the history of medicine, public health, and bioresearch. Links to current exhibits are listed on this page; use the "All Exhibits by Subject" link at the bottom of the page to see the complete list. Exhibits include a mix of primary and secondary sources.
Compiled by Allan Louden of Wake Forest University. A comprehensive and well maintained set of links to sites covering all areas of political discourse. Some are text only, others include audio and/or video archives.
Links to all the online Presidential Libraries. Each library will label things differently. Look for links such as "Digital Archives" or "Online Documents." Some libraries include more extensive online collections than others.
