At what point in the process do you need to do research on specific companies?
1) When you are targeting companies to send your resume to, you'll want to know whether the company is financially healthy, what kinds of openings they have, and whether or not they have a good reputation as an employer.
2) After you have been invited to come and interview with the company, you'll want to be prepared to answer questions that show you have thoroughly researched the company. You will want to show that your background, education and experience are a good match for the targeted company.
Why bother? Why not just do a Google search? Because the Library's subscription databases bring together the best of vetted information on your company and industry in an efficient, clean search. If you are knowledegable about your prospective company, you will be prepared to ask intelligent questions if you land an interview.
Recommended Databases:
Comprehensive database covering foreign and domestic businesses. Includes business overviews, competitor information, financial statements, and industry reports.
First Research Reports can now be found in D&B Hoovers under the "Search & Build a List" menu by clicking on "Research & Reports." From the Research and Reports page, chose the Report Type of "First Research Report." Please contact the library with any questions.
Includes a 40-year archive of curated news, legal, and business sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
For more in-depth information, go to Researching Companies.
Non-profit organizations, especially small local one, may be more difficult to research. Here are some tips:
Contains the full-text of The Baltimore Sun newspaper from 9/16/90-present on the Proquest database platform. Print copies of current issues are also available in the library.
