Primary sources are first hand accounts of real events. They may describe a national crisis or the ordinary routines of daily life.
Some primary sources are created at the time an event occurs. News accounts of daily events, journal entries, ships' logs and passenger manifests, laws, treaties, birth or death certificates, letters, telegrams, even e-mails: all of these are records of events as the events are unfolding. Other primary sources are created well after an event has passed. A first hand witness to an event may tell his or her story years later. Memoirs, oral histories, and interviews are all primary sources.
Not all primary sources are written. History has been captured on film and all manner of video and audio recordings, in photographs, drawings, and in ancient art works and archeological artifacts. Primary sources give us a glimpse into history as witnessed by the people who were there. With each new generation of technology, humans create new ways to record their experiences. Future generations may look at today's blogs to see how 21st century people described their lives.
Primary sources are found in many places. Use this site to get started locating primary sources through the Stevenson University Library and beyond.
Primary sources can often be found in journals and books. You have experience in searching for journals and books for other papers, projects, and assignments. However, one thing to keep in mind is that primary sources are often older than the articles and books you normally use. Most SU students are accustomed to using the online databases to find their articles. Many of our databases index only the most recent 15 years of periodicals. There are a few exceptions to this rule. Some older periodicals appear full text (PDF) in our databases. If searching within a database, remember to set the date limiters to the desired time period.
Simply browsing older magazines or newspapers can be very helpful in getting a feel for a time period. Everything from advertising to editorials speaks to the values and perceptions common to an era. If you are having problems finding what you need, the librarians will be happy to assist you.
To help you, here is a list of print periodicals available at SU that may help you with your projects:
| MAGAZINES | ||
| Title | Date Range | Format |
| Baltimore Magazine | 2019-present | |
| Maryland Historical Magazine | 2017-present | |
Here are some publications that offer older articles electronically:
Vogue magazine from 1892-present includes articles, images, and advertisements. Print copies of current issues are also available in the library.
Includes full text, digitized copies of The Baltimore Sun newspaper from 1837-1991 on the Proquest database platform.
Access to full content at NYTimes.com and all of its features from 1851 to the current issue. All staff, faculty, and currently-enrolled students at SU can register for full access to NYTimes.com. Print copies of current issues are also available in the library.
For more information on primary and secondary sources in the sciences, including a brief activity to test your knowledge, see this guide.
