There are several ways to find primary and secondary source articles. One option is OneSearch, which contains both kinds of articles:
Depending on your topic, it may make sense to search one database at a time. These database contain both primary and secondary sources in the humanistic fields:
Contains articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Includes full-text articles in the behavioral sciences published by the American Psychological Association and similar groups. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
A comprehensive database for research in psychology, behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.
Provides a broad collection of full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents on U.S. and world history.
A non-profit digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Artstor content is now included in JSTOR.
A subject index by the Modern Language Association (MLA) including books and articles published around the world on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
To locate books or videos in the Stevenson University Library, search the Library Catalog and obtain the Library of Congress call number, which will indicate the book's location on the shelves.
You can perform a keyword search in SHARC on the terms revolutionary war, if you are looking for books on the American Revolution. However, you will retrieve a much more relevant search result set by using the correct official subject heading for the period, which is United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783.
The Library of Congress Subject Headings for History follow the general format of geographic area followed by treatment, dates, and perhaps a special subject.
In another example, books on the American Civil War will be found under the subject heading United States -- History --Civil War, 1861-1865. However, look for specific battles or campaigns directly, e.g. Gettysburg, Battle of or Cumberland Gap Campaign.
You can browse the subject headings within the catalog by selecting Subject Browse from the search box on the right side of the Search screen.
Tip: begin searching by keyword, select a good book from the results, then click on the hotlinked official Subject Heading for your chosen book to locate additional works on your subject.
Keyword searches can be limited to Stevenson University's collection by selecting the "limit" function. If you haven't used the catalog or you don't know how to request books from the other libraries, go to How Do I Find Books for help.
