You can find scholarly articles on almost any topic, including comparative criminal justice. Try these databases for articles that focus on CJUS/law specifically:
Includes a 40-year archive of curated news, legal, and business sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Includes academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields, such as law and sociology.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,000 full-text journals. Useful for research in a broad range of studies.
Ebooks provide longer, more in-depth information on different topics. You could look at ebooks on comparative criminal justice in general:
A World View of Criminal Justice by
Criminal justice procedure is the bedrock of human rights. Surprisingly, however, in an era of unprecedented change in criminal justice around the world, it is often dismissed as technical and unimportant. This failure to take procedure seriously has a terrible cost, allowing reform to be driven by purely pragmatic considerations, cost-cutting or foreign influence. Current US political domination, for example, has produced a historic and global shift towards more adversarial procedure, which is widely misunderstood and inconsistently implemented. This book addresses such issues by bringing together a huge range of historical and contemporary research on criminal justice in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australasia and the Americas. It proposes a theory of procedure derived from the three great international trial modes of 'inquisitorial justice', 'adversarial justice' and 'popular justice'. This approach opens up the possibility of assessing criminal justice from a more objective standpoint, as well as providing a sourcebook for comparative study and practical reform around the world.
Globalisation, Criminal Law and Criminal Justice by
The book consists of the keynote papers delivered at the 2012 WG Hart Workshop on Globalisation, Criminal Law and Criminal Justice organised by the Queen Mary Criminal Justice Centre. The volume addresses, from a cross-disciplinary perspective, the multifarious relationship between globalisation on the one hand, and criminal law and justice on the other hand. At a time when economic, political and cultural systems across different jurisdictions are increasingly becoming or are perceived to be parts of a coherent global whole, it appears that the study of crime and criminal justice policies and practices can no longer be restricted within the boundaries of individual nation-states or even particular transnational regions. But in which specific fields, to what extent, and in what ways does globalisation influence crime and criminal justice in disparate jurisdictions? Which are the factors that facilitate or prevent such influence at a domestic and/or regional level? And how does or should scholarly inquiry explore these themes? These are all key questions which are addressed by the contributors to the volume. In addition to contributions focusing on theoretical and comparative dimensions of globalisation in criminal law and justice, the volume includes sections focusing on the role of evidence in the development of criminal justice policy, the development of European criminal law and its relationship with national and transnational legal orders, and the influence of globalisation on the interplay between criminal and administrative law.
Or look for books about your specific countries' criminal justice systems. For example, if you were comparing the United States and India, you could use these two ebooks:
Criminal Justice Issues in the United States by
The CRS Reports that comprise this book examines criminal justice issues we are currently facing in the United States. The first chapter examines mental incompetency and firearms ineligibility, and amendments to acts such as the Restoring Americans Healthcare Freedom Reconciliation Act, which were initiated after the mass shootings in San Bernardino in December 2015 and in Orlando in June 2016. The next report examines how domestic terrorism, hate crime and homegrown violent extremism relate (and differ) from one another and current trends. Additional reports include an overview on human trafficking trends, background, federal programs and issues for Congress on missing adults (age 18 and older). The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) reported that as of December 31, 2016, approximately 54,000 cases were pending. Finally, as a general rule, federal judges must impose a minimum term of imprisonment upon defendants convicted of various controlled substance (drug) offenses and drug-related offenses. The severity of those sentences depends primarily upon the nature and amount of drugs involved, the defendants prior criminal record, any resulting injuries or death, and in the case of the related firearms offenses, the manner in which the firearm was used. This last chapter revisits the mandatory minimum sentencing of federal drug offenses and offenders in the United States.
Crime and Justice in India by
Criminology and criminal justice is in its infancy in India. This book attempts to examine India′s crime problem in detail and document if and how its criminal justice system has responded to emerging challenges and opportunities. The objective is to move beyond mere observations and thoughtful opinions, and make contributions that are the next steps in the development of an empirical (or evidence-based) criminology and criminal justice on this vast and diverse country-by focusing on research that is both balanced and precise. This book brings together a diverse set of 32 academics from India, the US, and the UK who have authored 19 chapters on many aspects of crime and justice in India. The organizational components or sectors of the criminal justice system are the police, the courts, and corrections. The studies collected here provide balanced coverage of the entire criminal justice system and not just one component of it. The first section of this book consists of overviews of several major issues that affect the entire criminal justice system. Section Two considers topics related to the gateway of the criminal justice system, policing. Section Three takes up the operational problems of criminal law and courts and Section Four deals with the difficult question of punishment and correction, the last part of the criminal justice system.
For more ebooks, try these databases:
A collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects.
A multi-disciplinary collection of e-books covering a wide range of academic subjects from leading publishers and university presses.
