The Searching CINAHL tutorial was created by the SU library especially for nursing students. You will have greater success finding articles for your papers if you construct your search properly, as explained in this tutorial.
The databases listed below include or focus on nursing and healthcare management. These databases may include journal articles, ebooks, and more.
Contains research and scholarly information in the fields of nursing and allied health. Additional resources include evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Large collection of education research and information, including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.
Includes full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, geared toward researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators. Health topics covered include food science, childcare, sports medicine, and more.
Includes more than 31 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
A comprehensive database for research in psychology, behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents.
Contains more than 37 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Full-text articles are often available as links to other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
The easiest way to find the full text of articles in CINAHL is to limit your search results to articles with the full text available.
When we have the full text of an article, you should see one or more of these icons. Some will open the full text of the article directly; others will help you find any text that may be available to you.
|
|
PDF or PDF Full Text opens in a new window, or you can download and save it to your computer. PDF files are great because they show exactly how the source was originally published, including images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
|
|
Online Full Text or HTML Full Text will display in your browser. It includes all the text but may not have images, graphs, tables, and charts.
|
 |
View Complete Issue will show you the full text article along with the others that were published in that issue of the journal. This can be helpful if you're trying to find more articles on the same topic or from the same journal.
|
|
|
A database name, such as JSTOR, ScienceDirect, or Nexis Uni, means that you can click the link and the article will open in that database.
|
|
|
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if we have the source anywhere. Please note, if you get the "Go to Full Text Finder Results" message, click the link to load your search results.
|
 |
Retrieve Catalog Item opens the item's record in our library catalog. There may be a link to an ebook or streaming video, or there may be a location and a call number for a physical item. |
|
|
Use the Publications or Find a Journal link or button to search for the journal title (not the article title). This tool only has one job: to see if SU has access to a specific journal title in one or more of our databases. If there is a link to the journal in the correct date range, click there and see if you can find it. It's always good to double-check that we don't already have the full text somewhere else.
|
|
|
If you're still unable to find the full text, you can use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request articles or books that aren't already available through the SU Library. There is no cost to the user. When you click the link, you will need to log in with your SU account.
|
 |
Our AskUs service is available at the top of the library website. You can email, text, or chat with a Stevenson librarian for help. Tell us what item you are looking for (be as precise as possible), and we'll try to help.
|
Application of Nursing Informatics: Competencies, Skills, Decision-Making by 
An Introduction to Nursing Informatics, Evolution, and Innovation, 2nd Edition by To find more ebooks, search in these databases:
A collection of full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects.
Websites can be excellent, up to date sources of information about medicine and health, but it's important to evaluate these websites before using them. Not all websites are trustworthy, and the consequences of misleading medical information can be severe.
When evaluating health websites, pay particular attention to the source of the information. There should be citations indicating from where the information came. Additionally, make sure that the website is maintained by professionals with the relevant advanced degrees within the medical field (M.D., Ph.D, etc.). This information can usually be found in the "About" section of a website.
Here are some examples of trustworthy websites for health information:
The following sites are useful nursing websites:
