SU Library: OER by Discipline: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Find OER in My Discipline

Maryland Open Source Textbook Initiative

The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Initiative is a huge source of support for open educational resources, open access, and open pedagogy in Maryland. Find OER through the M.O.S.T. Commons or Stevenson's M.O.S.T. Commons Hub.

Quick Search

Three states -- Maryland, California, and Georgia -- maintain large statewide OER databases. Try these quick searches that are already set for your discipline:

Textbooks and Books

These sites offer multiple books:

LibreTexts Chemistry Includes multiple textbooks broken into eight subject areas.
Remixed textbooks from LibreTexts Chemistry
IntechOpen Includes 217+ peer-reviewed open access books and 45+ online-first chapter releases.
Physical Science Textbooks and Full Courses from WISELearnResources Includes chemistry resources collected by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
Pressbooks Directory

Here are some individual books on the topic of chemistry:

Chemistry 2e Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
Chemistry: Atoms First 2e Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry.
Introductory Chemistry Introductory Chemistry is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course.
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis The traditional (and still prevalent) way to teach organic chemistry is to focus on examples that are primarily of interest to students who are planning to become professional organic chemists - that is, to focus on the molecules and reactions of organic synthesis, considering mainly non-aqueous conditions and non-biological reagents. The majority of students studying organic chemistry, however, are doing so because they are majoring in biology, biochemistry, or health sciences. They need to learn about the structure and reactivity of organic compounds because, quite simply, organic chemistry is the chemistry of life. What is most interesting and relevant to these students is the organic chemistry that takes place in the context of a living cell.
Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses. All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures, and graphics are heavily utilized throughout the resource.
Chemistry from SkillsCommons The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry.
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications The overall goal of the authors with General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications was to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry.
Beginning Chemistry This text introductory chemistry text is aimed for a single semester or quarter beginning experience to the field. The textmaps survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give student enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare student for additional instruction in chemistry.
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry Organic Chemistry is a broad and complex subject. To understand and achieve a practical mastery of it requires an evaluation of interacting, and often competing principles and factors. These factors do not generally lend themselves to a quantitative treatment, so qualitative judgements as to their relative importance are necessary. As preparation for the study of organic chemistry, six important principles to which repeated reference will be made are listed on the left. By clicking on a name, the nature of the factor will be defined and illustrated. It is suggested that a review of these factors be made before using the on-line textual materials.
Organic Chemistry Organic chemistry is primarily devoted to the unique properties of the carbon atom and its compounds. These compounds play a critical role in biology and ecology, Earth sciences and geology, physics, industry, medicine and — of course — chemistry. At first glance, the new material that organic chemistry brings to the table may seem complicated and daunting, but all it takes is concentration and perseverance. Millions of students before you have successfully passed this course and you can too!
John McMurry's Organic Chemistry John McMurry's Organic Chemistry is renowned as the most clearly written book available for organic chemistry. In Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition from OpenStax, McMurry continues this tradition while updating scientific discoveries, highlighting new applications, scrutinizing every piece of art, and providing example problems to assist students. Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition continues to meet the scope and sequence of a two-semester organic chemistry course that follows a functional group approach.
Organic Chemistry I An open textbook that is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.
Introductory Organic Chemistry Online version including 10 chapters and an appendix.
Biochemistry Free for All Kevin, Indira and Taralyn Tan's lastest (FREE) electronic book is aimed at helping students at all levels of biochemistry to learn in a fun and engaging format.

Single Activities, Assignments, and Lessons

Tutorials from the ChemCollective ChemCollective tutorials walk students through solving chemistry problems movies, text, and interactive tutors. Because the hints given by these tutors ultimately provide the solution to the problem, they are similar to worked examples in a textbook. Currently, we have tutorials covering concepts in stoichiometry, buffers, and equilibrium.
Scenario-Based Activities from the ChemCollective Our scenario-based activities challenge students to apply chemistry knowledge in real world and game based situations. These activities highlight the utility of chemistry concepts.
Simulations from the ChemCollective These interactive simulations help to visualize difficult chemistry concepts and phenomena. Teachers can use these as demonstrations in lecture or supplements to homework. Students can also use the tools to test and improve their own understanding.
Learning Objects from LibreTexts Learning objects are content items, practice items, and assessment items. These resources are self-contained, digital or non-digital resources that can be used for learning, education or training. Learning objects can be organized to easily form collections of themed content, including traditionally designed courses.

Full Courses

Chemistry for Majors This course provides an opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them, meeting the scope and sequence of most general chemistry courses. Chemistry for Majors is designed to be taught over a series of two semesters.
Freshman Organic Chemistry I This is the first semester in a two-semester introductory course focused on current theories of structure and mechanism in organic chemistry, their historical development, and their basis in experimental observation. The course is open to freshmen with excellent preparation in chemistry and physics, and it aims to develop both taste for original science and intellectual skills necessary for creative research.
Freshman Organic Chemistry II This is a continuation of Freshman Organic Chemistry I (CHEM 125a), the introductory course on current theories of structure and mechanism in organic chemistry for students with excellent preparation in chemistry and physics. This semester treats simple and complex reaction mechanisms, spectroscopy, organic synthesis, and some molecules of nature.
CHEM101: General Chemistry I . Take a look around you: chemistry is the science that describes everything you touch, see, and feel, from the shampoo you used this morning to the plastic container that holds your lunch! In this course, we study chemistry from the ground up, beginning with the basics of the atom and its behavior, then progressing to the chemical properties of matter and the chemical changes and reactions that take place all the time in our world.
Open Chemistry initiative Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials, anyone in the world can effectively sit alongside UCI Irvine students and view complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures delivered by top faculty members. UCI's goal is to provide resources not only for learners, but for instructors, as well. Any of our OpenChem materials are immediately available for use by institutions or individual professors teaching their own courses.
Online Courses from the ChemCollective Developed with the Open Learning Initiative at Carnegie Mellon University, our online course modules provide comprehensive online instruction. The courses incorporate videos, virtual lab activities, practice tutors and assessment materials. The courses also allow instructors to track student progress.

Labs and Lab Manuals

College Chemistry 1 Labs The course will explore the fundamental laws, theories, and mathematical concepts of chemistry. It is designed primarily for science and engineering majors. It requires a strong background in mathematics.
Chemistry I Laboratory Manual This lab manual accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, stoichiometry, determining limiting reactants and more to complement an introductory chemistry course.
VirtualLabs from the ChemCollective The Virtual Lab is an online simulation of a chemistry lab. It is designed to help students link chemical computations with authentic laboratory chemistry. The lab allows students to select from hundreds of standard reagents (aqueous) and manipulate them in a manner resembling a real lab.
Autograded Virtual Labs Automatically graded activities provide randomly generated unknown solutions. Our web forms grade students’ answers to questions automatically and provide feedback for common student errors.

Videos, Images, and Media

Videos from California Community Colleges TechConnect Includes 64 videos broken into 12 modules.
Molecular Science Modules from the ChemCollective These modules, built around particulate-level simulations of chemical systems, aid students in drawing connections between disciplines such as chemistry, biology and materials science. Their scope is molecular science. Molecular science includes the study of how molecular structure and motion lead to emergent macroscopic properties, and the synthesis/engineering of structures with desirable properties.