SU Library: OER by Discipline: Accounting: Find OER in My Discipline

Maryland Open Source Textbook Initiative

The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Initiative is a huge source of support for open educational resources, open access, and open pedagogy in Maryland. Find OER through the M.O.S.T. Commons or Stevenson's M.O.S.T. Commons Hub.

Quick Search

Three states -- Maryland, California, and Georgia -- maintain large statewide OER databases. Try these quick searches that are already set for your discipline:

Textbooks and Books

These sites offer multiple books:

M.O.S.T. Commons
OER Commons
MERLOT
LibreTexts: Business and Accounting Small collection of textbooks on Accounting, Managerial Accounting, Tax Accounting, and Auditing.
LibreTexts: Finance Small collection of textbooks on investment management, corporate finance, personal finance and public finance.
Open Textbook Library Contains several eTextbooks on the subject of accounting.
OpenStax Business Textbooks OpenStax offers three textbooks in accounting and finance along with other business topics.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks Two web-based textbooks from Saylor Academy. Archived versions are available in .pdf format.

Here are some individual books on the topic of accounting:

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective This book focuses on accounting principals with a business perspective.
Basic Income Tax - 8th Edition This book is the 8th edition of a basic income tax text. This edition incorporates the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. It is intended to be a readable text, suitable for a three-hour course for a class comprised of law students with widely different backgrounds. The text integrates several of the CALI drills that Professor James Edward Maule (Villanova University) prepared.
Business Mathematics Business Mathematics was written to meet the needs of a twenty-first century student. It takes a systematic approach to helping students learn how to think and centers on a structured process termed the PUPP Model (Plan, Understand, Perform, and Present). This process is found throughout the text and in every guided example to help students develop a step-by-step problem-solving approach.
Financial Accounting This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions. For questions about this textbook please contact textbookuse@umn.edu
Intermediate Financial Accounting, Volume 1 Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 1 by G. Arnold and S. Kyle, developed in collaboration by Athabasca University and Lyryx, is intended for a first course in Intermediate Financial Accounting, and presumes that students have already completed one or two Introductory Financial Accounting courses. The textbook reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), such as IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts With Customers.
Intermediate Financial Accounting, Volume 2 Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 2 by G. Arnold and S. Kyle, developed in collaboration by Athabasca University and Lyryx, is intended for the second of two in Intermediate Financial Accounting courses. It presumes that students have already completed the Introductory Financial Accounting, and the first Intermediate Financing Accounting course. The textbook reflects both current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and ASPE.
Introduction to Financial Accounting This book contains the basics of financial accounting, such as Classified Balance Sheets
Principles of Managerial Accounting The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Principles of Managerial Accounting. Well-written and straightforward, Principles of Managerial Accounting is a needed contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Written in order to directly meet the needs of her students, this textbook developed from Dr. Jonick’s years of teaching and commitment to effective pedagogy.

Full Courses

Full courses from OER Commons
Accounting for Managers Lumen Learning course built around 15 modules
Finance And Society This course provides students with a broad historical and social-scientific introduction to a central aspect of modern economic life: Finance. By drawing upon a variety of disciplinary perspectives from the humanities and social sciences, the course offers a multi-dimentional picture of finance, not only as an economic phenomenon, but as a political, cultural, intellectual, material, and technological one. The course offers an introduction to foundational financial concepts and technologies, and will help students understand finance as a complex and multifaceted phenomenon. This course also provides students with the opportunity to improve skills in written communication, and to learn tools for historical analysis and textual interpretation.
Introduction to Financial Accounting 100-level Saylor Academy course built around 10 units
Introduction To Financial And Managerial Accounting This course studies basic concepts of financial and managerial reporting. The viewpoint is that of readers of financial and managerial reports rather than the accountants who prepare them.
Principles of Finance 200-level Saylor Academy course built around 8 units