OneSearch Help

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is our search box tool, which allows you to find books, articles, films, images, and more.  OneSearch searches our library catalog, Koha, and several (but not all) of our databases.  That makes it multidisciplinary, meaning it will find information from many disciplines and topics.

OneSearch is a good way to begin your research, but it's not the same as using a single database.  If you find yourself in one of these situations, you may want to try a different search tool:

• You need the special tools or features of a discipline-specific database.  Click here to find a single database for your course or subject.
• You need to search the full text of specialty ebook collections.  Click here to see our ebook databases.
• You need to see if the library has access to a specific journal.  Use Find a Journal for this.

How to Use OneSearch

To do a search, use the OneSearch box below or on the library website:

Doing a Basic Search

When you do a basic search in OneSearch, you'll see a list of your results on your screen.  For example, let's say you're searching for information about college athletes.  Type that into the search box.  Pro tip:  OneSearch will automatically search for both singular and plural words, so it will also find information about "college athlete."

Here's your search:

Toward the top of the results, OneSearch will tell you how many results it found (in this case, 51,947).

To find out more about one of the results or to read the full text, click the title.