Stevenson University mascot reading book in library

A PAGE

FROM

THE

LIBRARY

Volume 2, Issue 1

July 2020

Book Pickup and Return Available at the Greenspring Library

For the remainder of the summer, the library will fill requests for print books at the Greenspring Library. Contact a liaison librarian to let us know what you'd like to borrow. We will confirm your request and put the item(s) out for pickup on Wednesdays between 10am and 12pm at the Greenspring Library. If you have SU library books or ILL books checked out, you can also return them at this time.

Blackboard with the word Problem crossed out and the word Solution written below it

The Library in Blackboard

In the past, you may have encouraged your students to use the Library "tab" in Blackboard. This is an embedded version of the library website that makes it easy for students to access our website via Blackboard. However, we've learned that students using the Library tab are unable to access Noodle Tools or e-reserves. If your course includes one or both of these tools, ask your students to go to the "real" library website at stevensonlibrary.org.

Reading Club

This summer, SU Library launched a new program we're calling “The Low-Effort Reading Club.” Open to all Stevenson students, faculty, and staff, “The Low-Effort Reading Club” is for those who like to read but find the idea of committing to an entire book a little too daunting right now. For the rest of the year we’ll be reading shorter forms of writing: short stories, collections of poems, and articles. Each month the piece will be available to you free online. There are no eBooks to download, or books to rush to buy. Our July 23 read, a short story by one of the pioneering authors of the Black Horror movement, is a spooky tale with elements of folklore.

We’re offering readers synchronous and asynchronous ways of participating with each read. We’ll “meet” on BlueJeans to discuss that month’s read. You are also encouraged to comment on the piece on your own time using the web annotation tool, Hypothes.is. Participate using whichever method is most convenient to you (or both!).

To learn more about “The Low-Effort Reading Club” visit the website. There you can find the link to this month’s story, suggest a future read, and get more information on the ways to participate. All questions and comments can be sent to bhughes2@stevenson.edu.

Popcorn spilling out of a carton alongside a strip of movie tickets

Swank Digital Campus

The library is happy to announce a new deal with streaming video service Swank Digital Campus. Swank provides access to “big box” and feature films not available on our other streaming services. These films may be licensed for classroom and academic use. Films will be available for one year after licensing and may not be used for public performance. Please contact a librarian for more information.

Database Updates

The library is excited to announce that we now have access to Overdrive! This new service covers many academic topics, along with a robust fiction collection. As of now our collection includes 16 New York Times bestsellers, with more planned in the future.

We would also like to announce that the library will no longer be subscribing to Value Line and Maryland Historical Newspapers. If you have any questions about alternative resources, please feel free to reach out.

Workshops and Webinars

Multiple devices being used to attend webinar

In conjunction with LTIDS and the CTL, SU Library is excited to offer several summer workshops designed to support our faculty in the upcoming semester. We hope that you’ll consider joining us as we prepare for whatever awaits us this fall!

Copyright and BlackBoard
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 @ 2-3 PM (presented synchronously)
Facilitated by Sue Bonsteel, Library Director
https://bluejeans.com/866229243

What can legally be uploaded to Blackboard? Learn about fair use and how to use Blackboard and remain compliant with copyright law. Sue will offer suggestions on best practices for incorporating readings, videos, art and music into Blackboard to enrich your courses.

Opening Up Your Courses With Open Educational Resources (OER)
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 @ 2-3 PM (presented synchronously)
Facilitated by Elizabeth Fields, Research and Instruction Librarian
https://bluejeans.com/835360926

Open Educational Resources (OER) are a great way to add additional materials to your course or even ditch the textbook altogether. Elizabeth will provide tips for locating and evaluating OER, adding it to your Blackboard course or syllabus, and creating and sharing your own materials.

Creating Research Based Assignments for Everyone
Available beginning Wednesday, July 15, 2020 (presented asynchronously on Blackboard)
Developed by Sara Godbee, Instruction & Learning Services Librarian and Brianna Hughes, Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Integrating research-based assignments into current courses can be a beneficial and easy way to enrich your course and help students meet their personal and learning goals. This learning module is designed with all instructors and learners in mind, whether you're teaching a 100-level Chemistry course or a 400-level Information Systems course. You will learn how following a few simple steps can transform a traditional research assignment into one that engages learners and helps them perform better while meeting your desired learning outcomes.

New at the SU Library

Nonfiction titles recently added to our collection include memoirs, essays, graphic novels, and juvenile works. Contact the library to reserve your copy.