|
|
A PAGE
FROM
THE
LIBRARY
Volume 1, Issue 4
March 2020
|
|
|
 |
APA 7th Edition: What's New? Webinar
It’s not too late! If you've been planning to attend one of the library's webinars on the changes to the 7th edition of the APA Manual, you'll have one last chance on Tuesday, March 10 from 7-8 p.m. Sue Bonsteel and Elizabeth Fields will cover some of the updates and features in the new manual, which was published in October 2019. To register, email Sue Bonsteel at shbonsteel@stevenson.edu.
|
|
 |
New and Improved "Don't Cancel Class" Program
Are you expecting to miss one or more of your classes this semester due to a professional or personal reason? Instead of cancelling class, consider the Don't Cancel Class program. The library and its partners offer a variety of sessions as an alternative to cancelling class. To see descriptions of classes and to sign up, visit the Don't Cancel Class portal site or contact Sue Bonsteel at shbonsteel@stevenson.edu.
|
|
|
Spring Events at the Stevenson University Library
The Stevenson University Library is hosting a number of new events this spring, as well as some annual favorites. In February the library partnered with Diversity & Inclusion to host a Black History Month Poetry Reading. The event, held on February 13, celebrated African American poets, including some original poems by Stevenson community members.
In March, the library is hosting several new events, including the inaugural SU Mobile Library event on March 25 from 12-2 p.m. in the Manning Academic Center main concourse. The SU Mobile Library will be a regular event aimed at bringing books, movies, and other items in the library collection to the Owings Mills North campus. This month, Stevenson University students, faculty, and staff will be able to browse and check out (with a valid SU ID) items related to women, women’s history, and women’s issues in celebration of Women’s History Month. Our friends from the Owings Mills branch of the Baltimore County Public Library will also be in attendance.
We'll be celebrating National Library Week from April 19-25 with events and activities all week long. Be on the lookout for free goodies at all of our locations on Monday, April 20. On Earth Day, Wednesday, April 22, from 11 a.m.-1 p.m., the School of Business Library at Owings Mills will be hosting a Sustainability Fair and Plant Giveaway. This event will also be co-sponsored by the Owings Mills branch of the BCPL. To end National Library Week, the library will be hosting its annual Human Library Event on Thursday, April 23 from 6-9 p.m. at the School of Business Library.
May will see the return of our semi-annual De-Stress Fest, with activities, snacks, and programs aimed at helping students succeed during the final push of the semester. De-Stress Fest is an ongoing event at all three of our library locations and will run from May 4 through May 15.
|
|
|
|
|
Library Research Award 2020
Thank you to all the faculty who encouraged their students to apply for the 2020 Library Research Award. This year's winner was Paige Olsen, a senior in Visual Communication Design, and the two finalists were Sabrina Clifford and Ashley Hamilton. Paige's winning project, a portfolio and personal brand development project, can be viewed in the Stevenson Scholar Exchange.
|
|
|
New at the SU Library
Here are some of the new books, databases, and other resources provided by the Library, starting this spring:
|
|
|
|
New Databases
The Library's newest database is ARTSEARCH, which is a job search database for theater-related jobs. Students and faculty who are interested in using ARTSEARCH can contact the Library for instructions on accessing it.
CAS' SciFinder database got an update and a facelift last fall to become SciFinder-n. Users who still have their old SciFinder username and password can continue to use it, but if you've lost yours or you're not sure what it ever was, you can sign up for a new one.
As part of our subscription to ScienceDirect, we now have access to Mendeley Data, a collection of research data and data sets appropriate for a range of scientific topics.
New ebook Collection
Looking for additional ebooks? Starting this semester we have access to the Project Muse e-books EBA program, a collection of more than 36,000 full-text academic e-books on a wide variety of subjects. The majority of these books are published by university presses.
|
|
|
Stevenson University Library
1525 Greenspring Valley Road
Stevenson, MD 21153-0641
stevensonlibrary.org
|
|
| |
|
