Library Annual Report for 2014: Home

Libraries worldwide are experiencing changes as the focus shifts from traditional physical collections to digital resources. The title and volume counts below include significant digital counts, slightly over half of the total for volumes held. Another trend of note is the drop in circulation, which are counted only for print and DVDs, down by about 3% from the previous year. Notably increased this year are inter-library loan requests made by Stevenson patrons, reference queries, and database searches.

Data Trends

Unit Action Plan FY 2014
The Library’s Unit Action Plan aligns with the University’s Strategic Plan goals. Specific projects from FY 2014 are described here.

1. Usability testing of Library web page. In Fall 2013, several tests were conducted and results were incorporated into the new website design, although the technical limits of the webpage dictated the extent of changes. Library staff will continue to conduct usability studies when a new version of the website is rolled out.
2. Analysis of Criminal Justice Collections :  A shelf list for LC call numbers in Criminal Justice was obtained from the Ex Libris system, and  staff looked at the number of times items circulated. Print materials with no or low circulation in the past 5 years were weeded and updated. Inter-library loan requests for journal in the CJ discipline were also pulled and the number of requests and cost for subscription were obtained. Results of our investigation led to purchase of a new major database, EBSCO’s Criminal Justice Abstracts. This new resource covers 630 journals and magazines in the field of criminal justice and related fields such as law and sociology. Staff  also initiated a subscription to a major journal in the field.
3. Standardization of English Information Literacy sessions: Standardized objectives were developed for freshman English and were used by library staff delivering instruction during the FY2012 school year. Results were shared among library staff, and discussed: the consensus was that better standardization of instruction in freshman English was a positive development, leading to better use of library staff time and more consistent objectives attained across course sections.
4. An online module on the topic of plagiarism was considered, but deferred until the following year: the module was incorporated into a general Information literacy course to be taken by all incoming Freshmen through Blackboard.

Social Media:

Libraries in general are utilizing more social media to publicize their services and interact with their patrons. Stevenson University Library has both Facebook and Twitter feeds. The Facebook page received 33 more “Likes” than in 2012-2013!  Stevenson’s Twitter feed generated 139 tweets.

Other E-Services

Our subscription citation and bibliography creation software, entitled Noodlebib, exhibited the following activity:

Maryland Inter-Library Consortium Activities

2013-14 was a year of great change in Stevenson’s participation in MIC, which is a partnership of shared collections among several college and university institutions locally. One institution withdrew from the group, and the remaining participants felt it prudent to streamline and downsize operations. Stevenson University’s Business Department took over the accounting and book-keeping role previously performed by Loyola-Notre Dame library staff, and the Consortium Manager position was made part-time. Invoicing is now based on actual, as opposed to estimated, costs.

Other Activities:

ILLIAD Inter-Library Loan software acquired and installed. This new addition completely automates the ILL process, making the requesting of materials outside of the MIC institutions seamless and very fast.

Information Literacy online module created in step with the General Education course revision. All freshmen will be required to complete the module, and its impact assessed and results shared with the campus community. A module on plagiarism will be included.

Patron records in the Ex Libris Voyager system are now more easily updated from the Datatel, thanks to a collaboration between the OIT and Library Systems staff member.

The School of Business Library was outfitted with 3 additional public PCs and 10 additional work seats to meet demand.

The Annual Founders Day Tea on October 1, 2013, sponsored by the Library, the President’s Office and the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur, was well-attended.

Stevenson University Library staff created book discussion groups for students as well as for staff. Their purpose was to encourage reading and to publicize the Library. All events were well-attended.

An exhibit area for mounted posters and paintings was created on the Library second floor at Greenspring. This area will serve to showcase student and faculty or staff work of all kinds. The first exhibit featured oil paintings by faculty member Exsul Van Helden, and was entitled “Seeing Again.” It ran from March to May.

The Greenspring Campus Library hosted HAAS’s Quad Stories event for March, and the theme was “Shhh…Adventures in the Library.” It was deemed successful in terms of attendance and spirit.

Greenspring Library sponsored a visit from PetsOnWheels. Stress-relieving therapy dogs were available in December for students who might have been experiencing stress over final exams.

In partnership with Christopher Reed, Professor of Film, Video at Stevenson, the Library screened 5 films in a series entitled “Fifty Years of Italian Cinema” in Fall 2013. The event was open to the public.

Compiled by Maureen Beck, Director of Library Services. 5/26/15.